measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Toothbrushes: the symbols of commitment

[erich] and I made one of those big step events in our relationship last night...

We bought toothbrushes.

Secondary toothbrushes.

"Just in case I stay over" toothbrushes.

Oh yes, it's true. We're doing the move-in thing together, despite the fact that our apartments are approximately 20 miles apart or so. *grin* We even got the SAME style toothbrush. Just in different colors (because they'll be so hard to tell apart when they're in different apartments, you know).

The next thing is towels, which will be provided completely by me because I have TOO DAMN MANY OF THEM. How many towels does a single girl living in a studio apartment (efficiency apartment for those of you non-Boston/NYC types) need? I have five SETS of towels. I bought none of them myself. They came as one of the Christmas present "themes" one year, where everyone seemed to buy me bath towels. I didn't even ask for them. But I got towels. Nice plushy fuzzy towels. Mostly in hunter green and navy blue, but I have one set that's glaring off-white. And I'm talking those really big body towels and the regular bath towels, here. Being a plus-sized woman and all, those big body towels are a blessing. The last thing I need on a December morning is my big ol' naked ass sticking out the back of a too-small bath towel when I leave the bathroom to get to my closet.

Cold air + wet skin = yips of pain

So what do I use the regularly sized bath towels for? My hair. And it just barely fits in a bath towel. My hair is at my waist, and it seems to stretch with the weight of water.

Anyway... back to planning here... I think that off-white set of towels will make its way down to Erich's house. He seems to have a lot of white towels. Gotta make the guest towels match. I am a girl, after all-- gotta do some decorating.

I won't punish him with bringing over an entire entourage of shower stuff. That's a bit extreme right now. I mean, if I'm in dire needs, I can use the stuff he uses. I might leave a bottle of detangler over there for my hair. But girls have so much more stuff in the shower than guys, and they seem to be in much more colorful bottles. I don't want to scare the poor guy. After all, he never had sisters, so it's definitely going to be a shock to his system. He and I by chance already used the same deodorant brand (I hate women's deodorant... both the scents and the fact that it just doesn't seem to work on preventing sweat... which is exactly why I would want to buy the stuff).

But an individual toothbrush is essential. I mean... I might be kissing him. I might do a multitude of things to him intimately. But heaven forbid if we share the same toothbrush. That's just icky. *grin*

(Don't ask me why... it seems to get filed under the same logic as why when you go into a public bathroom, you choose a stall that puts one vacant one between you and another person in the restroom)

The banner of commitment has been raised. A Mel toothbrush has been added to Erich's bathroom decor, and tonight when I go home for the first time in 24 hours, an Erich toothbrush will find its way to my bathroom.

So now what comes next, I wonder?

12:09 p.m. - 12 December 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda