measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Preparing for Samhain

T-minus 20 days and counting until Samhain.... or Halloween, for those of a non-Paganish ilk.

Already this month, I've received five emails from local smaller-press newspapers asking to interview me. Why? Because I'm a Witch. And you interview Witches around Halloween. Because it's cool and it's suddenly timely. It's the only time they exist, after all...

(... other than... Yule and Imbolc and Ostara and Belane and Midsummer and Lughnasadh and Mabon... right. We only exist in October.)

I have to laugh about it. It's actually kinda fun, even when it's frustrating to realize that many people think that Witches just crawl out of the woodwork for the month of October, and then after Samhain night go back into their freakish holes for another year. October seems to be the one month of the year where it's acceptable to be a Witch, and even embraced in a way. It's a time of the year to get away with my Stevie Nicks-inspired bohemian side, decorate with candles. And this year, we even added a living near-black cat who just happens to LIKE perching on my shoulder to the mix.

Never mind the fact that every day I get up, put on NORMAL clothes for work, and look like everyone else. The interviewers never quite get that fact. They come to talk to me, and seem to be disappointed that I show up wearing a nice sweater and pants from the Macy's sales racks, rather than some gypsy dress... or Goddess forgive, dressed in black gothy stuff... with cobweb lace or something. It's because after work, see... since I'm a Witch, I'm supposed to be going back to my house (which actually is in another dimension and turns into some reclusive cave or something), flipping the switch that turns on the bubbling cauldron, and start flying around Boston trying to find children to boil.

I just want to pat the interviewer's head and say "Silly goofball," hand them a "fun size" snickers bar, and send them on their way wondering what the hell is going on. Is it truly necessary to have to explain why I'm, um, an average person?

*sigh*

Only at Samhain...

10:44 a.m. - 11 October 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda