measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clothes shopping for monetary relief

I'm one of those more unusual women who hates to go clothes shopping. It chalks up there in the "things I enjoy doing" category along the lines of where men chalk up going to buy tampons for their significant female other.

However, when I'm flat broke and have a $100 American Express gift check, and need the cash, heading to Macy's after work seems about the least confrontational place to go get cash from the thing.

So I did my MOST dreaded type of clothes shopping (yes, even moreso than bathing suits).... bra shopping.

Seriously, I'd rather die.

Being that I'm of more-than-average weight, I also fall into the category of "full figured" in the bra department. You know... those god-ugly ones only available in white, beige, sometimes a sickly yellow color, and black? The ones that often have more hooks and eyes on one bra than Amish people have on all of their clothing?

*sigh*

Along with that, we can add the embarrassment that has come up on occasion when I pull sizes off the rack and just want to hide them, because having to carry bras with gunboat sized cups on them really doesn't enthuse me too much. I'm cursed with having to wear DD cups. They make the side size labels in this deep purple. And since the color is such a rarity, EVERYONE shopping for bras can see you're carrying a DD. However, it also seems to be the hardest to find size, and often impossible to find.

Are there really that many women in the world that wear an A cup? It seems they're always stocked with A cup bras. Obviously there is a need for larger ones if they're constantly selling out.

And along with that... why does a decent bra cost more than a pair of jeans?!?

*bigger sigh*

But in any case, I picked up my new funky microfiber bra ("with hidden sling") last night at Macy's, and got about $70 in change to live on for the rest of the week.

Now... if they'd just make those velour pj bottoms I saw last night in my size, clothes shopping might take on a whole new meaning...

--Mel.

12:47 p.m. - 10 October 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda