measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

midnight ramblings

I'm going to be paying for the Diet Coke that I drank around 11 p.m. tonight, so I'm doing some journaling in the hopes that it will burn some of the caffeine out of my system... or at least counteract the caffeine by making me tired from staring at the screen.

And wasn't that a run-on sentence from hell.

But anyway... things are going well here this week. I'm doing fine, going on with life. Haven't been able to do my daytime journal ramblings because we've been having server problems due to a new virus going around that seems to be particularly vicious. Yet another reason I'm glad that I work on a mac... both at home and at work. It's another PC-only virus, but unfortunately, our cross-site servers are on PC's, so they get zapped even if our computers don't.

Work has been insanely busy this week, so I finally gave in and brought some of it home with me to work on in peace. Relative peace. Kittens chewing on my toes is nowhere near the level of frustration given by fellow employees who need the same question answered that they came to ask me a week ago, or the illustrators complaining that they haven't been paid for their work on the new Algebra 1 textbook that we're producing... or the people working frantically to replace the New York Math textbook covers, despite the fact that the book was at the printer, because the cover shot is of the Statue of Liberty overlooking Manhattan... and of course, the World Trade Center. Eighth and ninth graders hate math enough as it is. We really don't need the unkosher shot of an intact Manhattan to disturb them even more... regardless of whether or not they need to cover those textbooks with some sort of protective wrap.

But I'm doing okay. If it weren't for the evening news, my life would be much like it has been for months... somewhat controlled insanity. Just as I like it.

On the homefront, Fizzy is growing like a weed. Little Lich Kitty has honored The Finn's descriptions of Lich Kittens by having the amazing ability to climb asses and overpower me with his cuteness. He's still all eyes and limbs, and hasn't grasped the concept that that tail IS attached to him, and that he's the one moving it... because he still tries to attack it at least once an hour.

The one semi-disturbing thing that has been going on with "the boys" is Fizzy's interest in trying to nurse from Colley... which is an interesting feat, considering that Colley's a neutered male cat. At first I thought Fizzy was just trying to groom Colley's stomach, which is full of long, wooly undercoat fur. But nope... he was just pushing it out of the way to get at those kitty nipples on the big guy, kneading Colley's tummy and purring loudly as he went. It's the oddest looking thing... particularly since Fizzy now is nearly 12 weeks old and just looks entirely too big to be doing this. I realize it's partly for comfort, but still... *wince*. When I've seen him do it, I've tried to pull him away to start weaning him from the habit, but I really wish Colley would also help me out a little here and not just lounge around as Fizzy suckles on him. *sigh* I realize that Fizzy's a kitten... but he's starting to become a big kitten. Time to leave the really baby-cat stuff behind.

Well... off to bed. Hopefully can add more in the morning.

'nite...

--Mel.

12:17 a.m. - 20 September 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda