measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and life continues as normal...

Monday morning-- hear the alarm, debate whether I can sleep a bit later, wonder what that lump is by my feet under the comforter (Fizzy), wonder what the other lump is by my hip (Colley), sit up, untangle myself from felines who think I'm a heated couch, turn on the TV, get dressed, head out, grab coffee, get on the T, get on the shuttle, fumble for my security ID, get into work. Drink coffee.

Yeah, it's a regular Monday morning-- just as they always are.

Have things changed under the surface? Yeah, but to give into the fear that the terrorists caused last week is to allow them to win. Life has to go on, and while I do take a few minutes every day to mourn and allow the sadness to come through, the honorable thing to do to remember the dead is to go on living and relish in the joys of life that the unfortunate didn't have a chance to experience.

I spent a lot of the weekend doing things to make me feel better and to just do stuff that's routine... grocery shopping, spending time with Erich cuddling on the couch, tackling the Beast (and yes, we made progress!), writing penpal letters (made a TON of progress). I needed the normalcy. The need to get back into a routine energized me to get things done that I have tried to put off. Getting things cleaned was cathartic in a way. I needed to get things back in order badly--both mentally and physically.

I'm sure I'll talk occasionally about how I'm feeling about this. It's a journal of my thoughts, after all... but for the most part, I'm going to try to just put things away and try to move on. Because dwelling on grief for too long isn't healthy. I need to honor the memory of the dead by living, and being thankful for what I still have.

--Mel.

10:53 - 17 September 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda