measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

80's child revisited

I thought I was dreaming when I woke up... turned on the TV, and skimmed channels, and came across a certain "ad" on a station I hadn't watched in years.

My god... it's the little technicolor flag with the astronaut. What?!? MTV... actually being MTV?!?

*gasp* and it got better. They're playing the old band advertisements... "If you're not in stereo sound, you haven't entered the space age..." and the like.

*gasp* and it got even BETTER... they're playing videos. Lots of videos. Back to back videos. Devo, Flock of Seagulls. I'm in shock. Seriously. Watching these "primitive" videos that were as bare-bones as could be because of the low budgets, side things in videos that to this day, no one knows what the hell they were, but they were funny or stupid or amusing. Waldo getting onto the bus at the beginning of Van Halen's "Hot for Teacher" was always my favorite, personally. I hope they show that video sometime this morning. *grin*

I stopped watching MTV regularly in high school, once shows like the Real World and Road Rules became more common than the music. Every once in a while, I'll pop it on if there's a music-related show I'm interested in. I watched Real World off and on... made sure to catch all of Boston and Seattle, but kinda died off after then. MTV just *isn't* Music Television anymore. Non-video shows were abnormal back then. Even the game shows like Remote Control were about music.

Now with shows like "Jackass," MTV has become a grittier and more disgusting version of Nickelodeon as I remember it. Is it a sign of the generation? Perhaps. Even still... I get amused as I hear kids talking about the "new styles." About a year ago, my cousin was commenting on these really new cool "para-pants." Yes, you got it... parachute pants. Now... raise your hands. Come on... who had a pair of bright red ones? Uh-huh, I thought so. And I saw someone with Def-Leppard style slashed jeans the other day. I wonder if acid-wash will be coming back soon. Maybe MTV will return to celebrating music, rather than this glitzy stuff they do now. Maybe then I won't sound like such an old fart at 26.

LOL... now they're going through a run-down of those 80's classics... "Mickey," "867-5309," "Rock the Casbagh," and Van HALEN's version of "Pretty Woman." Oh... just gimme my lace gloves, mini-skirt length petti-coat skirts, and my ripped sweatshirts... I'm home.

*dances off stage left to the Safety Dance*

8:38 a.m. - 4 August 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda