measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blessed Lughnassad

The mark of the first harvest. Gimme some oatmeal and corn and I'm happy. :)

Actually, I did have oatmeal this morning, not realizing how hot it was going to be today. Ugh... It's now around 3:30 p.m., and the oatmeal is still sitting like a rock in my stomach. Yikes. And it doesn't help that I've got some sort of a cold/allergy bug annoying me today. Getting congested and have a sore throat. Not surprising, though. I work for a company that publishes school textbooks, and they've been doing trial tests at various charter schools. Which means that sales people are coming in contact with school colds. Which means they're bringing them back to work. PLUS kids are getting home from summer camp.

So all of these little viruses are smiling at me with big pointy teeth (*insert Monty Python hand reference here*).

I feel so-so, but I decided to just take the day off and get a few things done around the house. After the last few weeks of chaos, I need the day. *shrug* It's as much a mental sick-day as a physical one.

So I'm puttering around here, watching Colley's normal daily routine (okay... so, he does sleep all day when I'm at work.), getting the last of my laundry done, getting dishes done, and I realize that it's August 2nd.

*gasp*

Now... so what, right? Well, besides Lughnassad, which is the celebration of the first harvest, it's also another important Pagan mark for me. It's the 8th anniversary of my Dedication ceremony. And doesn't THAT make me feel old. Eesh. Wasn't it yesterday that I was bouncing down Massachusetts Avenue to Arsenic and Old Lace up in Cambridge to buy my first pentacle necklace (which sadly, I lost sometime in the last three months... the pendant ring stretched and it fell). I was so nervous and happy to have it that I needed help to get the clasp done. Why? Because I waited until my dedication ceremony to wear it. The necklace was a symbol of a rite of passage for me, not rebellion as is often the case with young Pagan seekers.

So now I'm eight years into the Craft. Dear Goddess... where has all the time flown?!? And now where do I go from here?

--Mel.

3:33 p.m. - 2 August 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda