measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

all things must come together

This weekend was extremely strange. Events falling into place that would have never happened if one other event prior to it had been mistimed.

And who said that timing isn't everything? Please.

Here's the sum-up of how things happened...

Friday evening: LGM sends out an email to the entire gaming group to announce that Saturday's game is cancelled. His car is in the shop, so it's going to make it difficult to get up to Boston from NYC for the weekend.

Erich and I decide to spend the afternoon and evening together anyway, because he wants to talk to me, realizing that he's been more than wary of opening up to me, and wants to do so. I'm a bit nervous, but agree, hoping that Ye Old Shovel of Truth doesn't come to smack me in the face during this talk.

Saturday morning, 11-ish A strange smell eminated from the catbox in the bathroom, and I went to investigate. I discover that not only is my poor little Colley having a case of diarrhea, but that there's traces of blood in there. I call the vet immediately, and since Colley actually is acting normally, the vet decides that it's not life-threatening, but yes, he should get in today to see him. 3:30 appointment's the earliest he can do. fine, no problem.

Call Erich, let him know... tell him I'll call him once I'm home from the vet and we can see what's happening.

noon Vet calls back. He has a cancellation at 1:30... can I get there? Yep. No problem.

12:05 I'm getting the carrier out of the closet to get Colley ready to go, and the phone rings again. It's JT and Tan. They have extra tickets to the Barenaked Ladies concert at Great Woods due to personal issues with Tan's boss (who originally had the set of tickets), and now her boss isn't going to the concert... do Erich and I want to come? Sure! Lemme just get a hold of Erich and get this vet visit taken care of, and I'll call them back to arrange getting together.

Call Erich, he's psyched.

So... I go to the vet... Colley's fine, just has a worm infection. They give me meds, they check him out, they say he's fine, just don't take him outside until he's done with the meds. Fine, no problem.

Get back around 3:30, clean up, head to Braintree where Erich is picking me up at the T station at 5:15. Meet up with JT and Tan, and proceed to have a WILD evening with VIP tickets to BNL. The concert was a riot. :)

But it was odd, because if any of those events had been out of place, we wouldn't have gone... I wouldn't have gotten the message from Tan had Colley not gotten sick. We wouldn't have the tickets at all if Tan's boss hadn't cancelled. And we would have missed everything had we gone to the game that got cancelled.

It's strange how things worked out.

* * * * * * * *

On another note, Erich and I did have a talk on the way home from the concert on Saturday. Turns out that he, for a variety of self-image reasons, hadn't been in a relationship before where the girl had any emotional interest in him, so he's at a complete loss at what to do. But he was also afraid that at 26, not having dated would make him out to be a complete loser.

The key phrase to remember in all of this is that we're gaming geeks. Gaming geeks by nature are late bloomers. So the fact that he hasn't dated doesn't bother me before at all.

But I explained to him that it was all the more reason to take this slowly. What's meant to happen will happen, but that I need the time to feel comfortable, and if this is his first real relationship, he doesn't want to rush, either. He agreed, and was happy I understood (what was I going to do... laugh at him? We all have to start somewhere, right?)

I did explain to him that while I enjoy spending time with him, and yes, I want to spend time with him and see where this will lead, I don't want to always be cuddling or touched, because it makes me feel like I'm being smothered. And he realized he'd probably been a bit too excited about physical contact. I think he understands.

I hope he understands.

Because he is a really nice guy, and one I could see myself having an extremely long relationship/partnership with. But I just don't want to feel like I'm losing myself, either.

1:08 p.m. - 23 July 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda