measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a kow-tow session to my mother

My mother has saved my ass for the rest of the summer.

Between $110 in groceries (including cat food and litter), virtually an entire new wardrobe (let's just say LOTS of money and probably about 10 outfits, including some that are mix and match) and $250 just to pay bills, my ass is saved.

I am worshipping my mom right now. I think Colley would, too, if he didn't have the genetic indifference that is part of being a cat.

She and Jim just left. We had a great weekend, and I'm almost in tears of how helpful my mom was. And I know damn well my mom didn't have that much money around... so I'm wondering how she did this.

Yes, I know I keep going back to that point... but for me, it's a big one. I try like hell to be completely self-sufficient. Unfortunately, I live in Boston, which means I pay through the nose for rent. To give non-Bostonians an idea, picture a one-room (no bedroom) apartment about the size of a single-occupancy hotel room. Heat and hot water are included. No A/C, the kitchenette needs remodeling. I pay $1,090.00 per month, and that will be going up to $1,130 per month as of October 1st. And yes, this is more than half of my paycheck, and believe it or not, my place is on the relative LOW side for rents around here.

Anyway... about being self-sufficient, if I'm not careful every month, getting behind gets disasterous. Unfortunately, I'm at that stage where I'm running out of everything, clothes needed to be tossed out and replaced, and my medical bills (between my ankle and my allergies) have racked up. I despise asking for help, particularly from my dad, who is overly stingy about money with me (even though he'll give my brother a car... and my brother's the one who got into trouble as a kid). It's a matter of pride. I try to keep it contained as much as I can, but I also can't lie about it very well.

I'm falling behind.

So for my mom to basically assist me financially with what amounts to just about a month's rent saves my ass BIG TIME.

All hail mothers. Now hopefully I'll make enough money to buy my mom that yacht for her retirement. :)

--Mel.

(going to unpack loads of groceries)

1:32 p.m. - 8 July 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda