measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

comparing relationships

Growing up, the Fourth of July usually meant my dad being on-call for deliveries (OB?GYN), and so the rest of us kinda hung around the house since we really couldn't go anywhere as a family. After my parents got divorced, this became even more dramatic--my dad went through a few years of being a recluse on holidays for some reason. Rather than go out into the neighborhood and spend time with the people who live around us (and are nice people), he stayed inside and watched TV... usually Wimbeldon during the day, and then the Pops Goes the Fourth concert from Boston in the evening.

I always watched the Boston concert with him, but longed to have a big cookout/family reunion/picnic sort of gala for the Fourth.

Now that I'm on my own, I make a point to get together with as many people as I can for the Fourth of July. For me, at least, it's a day to celebrate the opportunity to be able to see loved ones freely, to enjoy their company, and celebrate this big, diverse country of ours, despite its problems. For one day, we don't argue politics or current issues. We just celebrate that battle cry of freedom that began only a couple dozen miles from where I now live.

Erich and I drove up to JT and Tan's place yesterday, arriving just a bit before one p.m. We were the first ones there, and got to enjoy a couple hours of one-on-one time with the two of them. I was worried about Erich being bummed that it wasn't just the two of us, but on the way home he made the comment that holidays are the times to bring as many people together as possible, so I know he understood. JT and Tan are great, and it made me feel even better when they said that the four of us, sans rest of gaming group, should go out for dinner one night. I'm all for it, and Erich is really liking the two of them, so this should be fun. (of course, since all four of us are broke, this might not happen for a while).

The four of us talked a while, catching Erich up on the melodramatic backstory of the gaming group, as well as just some casual chatter game-wise and the current state of JT and Tan's engagement vs. JT's divorce (which is amicable, fortunately... but still pending as all legal matters in this country seem to do). It was nice to just talk, and be able to talk out-of-game without anyone else there. No kids, no other people... just us.

And I was very happy to get those couple hours, since Grace was in one of her standard nasty moods all day and made a point of making a scene by being anti-social for whatever reason was up her ass yesterday. *sigh* Whatever. This relationship between the two of them has run far past its course, particularly when LGM admits that it's not going to go anywhere long-term and that yes, she was a rebound for her feelings for someone else. I don't get it.

But the beauty of it is, that having developed a friendship with JT and Tan, and now being with Erich, I can just look at the patheticness that is Grace and laugh. I don't know what LGM sees in her at all, and the support he's getting from others in dealing with her is waning rapidly. There are only so many times that adults will tolerate temper tantrums about bullshit from someone in their mid-twenties, particularly people who have children of their own.

It was amazing to watch the dichotomy, though. I just am amazed at how life is such a soap opera. :)

--Mel.

9:29 a.m. - 5 July 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda