measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

preparing for the weekend on a Tuesday...

Melissa Kent? Yeah you... *thump thump thump* Guess what? It's time for you to become an experiemental subject for the week. Your test? To endure a crazy five days, filled with work, friends, your boyfriend, a national holiday, and your mother.

Me: Yikes

Actually, it should be a nice few days. Busy as hell, but a nice few days.

I've decided to leave work at 4:30 today and catch the early shuttle back to the T. With all of the overtime I've been putting in the last few days, I think leaving a bit early is justified. Besides, I doubt anyone else will be here much past then, either. This office works on flex time. Somehow I think the flex will be bending severely since we didn't get out early on the day before a holiday as we customarily do.

Erich and I are meeting for dinner once he gets out of work at 7 p.m. I'm going to put in an hour or so of housework before then to start preparing for Thursday. We may head over to the Esplanade and watch the dress rehearsal concert by the Boston Pops for tomorrow night's extravaganza (Pops Goes the Fourth... on A&E every year if you have cable). It depends on the weather, though. After a few days of oppressive humidity and heat, we're now having very Montana-like summer weather in the mid-70's with extremely low humidity. It almost feels cold outside! I figure Erich and I will hang out until 11-ish. Then I'll head home, get a load of laundry into the machines downstairs and be able to switch it to the dryers before heading to bed. Then tomorrow morning I'll get the rest of the quick-cleaning done so that my studio is at least relatively presentable for my mom on Thursday.

Erich and I will be heading up to Nashua tomorrow to spend the Fourth with JT and Tan. LGM is driving up tonight from Staten Island, and he, Grace, and Avatar may come, too. We'll do burgers, Nashua's fireworks, and maybe do some gaming in the afternoon. It'll be relaxing and inexpensive (something Erich and I both desperately need right now!).

Back to work on Thursday for the day. My mom and Jim will be driving up to spend the long weekend with me, but they won't get here much before four p.m. (coming from Pennsylvania), so I'm not going to waste the day off. I have no clue about plans for the weekend--I think it's going to be a lot of play-by-ear sort of things. I'm hoping that I can convince Mom to buy some groceries, since I'm short on money again until the 15th. At least I know I'll have some food leftovers from dinners. :) I also have to work a half-day on Friday, and will probably borrow mom's car to drive to work... just to say I did. :) It'll help me get outta here faster on Friday so we can spend time together. But I just can't afford the days off right now if I want to have any chance of having time off at Christmas, plus a "mother-daughter bonding trip" that my mom informed me we need to plan for sometime by the end of the year. Not that I wouldn't mind going anywhere with my mom... I just don't know quite when I'll get the time to do such things.

I just hope it'll be a fun week. Sometimes things get really stressful with Mom, and I don't want one of our petty arguments to ruin the weekend.

*sigh*

3:35 p.m. - 3 July 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda