measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moving Chaos, part Dva...

Well... another day of moving chaos down. And this one included me, which made it probably the most chaotic of all of them since I was both move coordinator and move-ee.

All things considered, it went pretty smoothly. My stuff was in my new cube by about 2:30, the computer was set up by 3:30, and I was able to unpack everything by 5-ish. I stayed and got my timesheets done for the week, did a bit of organizing (at least so it doesn't look like a hellhole right off the bat), and left around 6.

I'd missed the last shuttle bus that runs from my office to the T, so I wound up walking to the commuter rail. It took about a half hour, and fortunately there was a breeze so it wasn't as hot as it could have been. I grabbed some buffalo wings at the sub shop near the station, and then caught the train at 7:15. It moved INCREDIBLY slowly... I've never seen it so slow. Even the small Green Line subway cars move faster than this thing did. Even though Needham is only about 10 or 15 miles from Boston, it took an HOUR for the train to get to Boston. I finally got to South Station at 8:15.

I decided to head over to the bus terminal and get my ticket now so I can at least have a few extra minutes of leeway getting there tomorrow. The poor guy at the ticket counter who sold me my ticket was an hour into an 11 hour shift, and I'll see him again tomorrow morning for the 6:30 bus. He asked me to make sure he was still awake. I told him that if *I* was, I'd do so. :)

I finally got home around 9, and I'm just wiped out. It's probably a good thing, since if I want to get a full night's sleep, I'm going to have to sack out soon. My feet are killing me from all of the running around I did at work and on the walk to the train. My bed is looking extremely enticing right now!

So tomorrow the trek to get LGM and his car, who has been christened Cassandra for anyone amused by men and their names for cars. It'll be my second ever day trip from Boston to NYC, and the shortest yet, with a whopping one hour in Manhattan, spent completely underground in the subway from the Port Authority to the Staten Island Ferry station.

Well... off to do some websurfing and then to bed. More tomorrow night...

--Mel.

9:01 p.m. - 28 June 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda