measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New York, New York...

Now that I've finally gotten sleep and can actually sit at my computer without extreme fatigue or pain, I'll get this entry in!

Friday was just downright strange, but it was a fun adventure all around. A lot of firsts happened for me on the trip that made it a marker of time passing. I found myself in the middle of a lot of reflection the entire trip down and across New York until I met up with LGM. This was a good thing.

So let me sum up the entire trip with a rough timeline first (times are approximate), and then I'll go into some particular details:

5:00--- Wake up and go through a quick version of the morning routine

5:45--- Get on subway to South Station to go to bus terminal

6:10--- Relief pours over me as I *make* it to S. Station with time to go to get coffee

6:30--- Bus leaves terminal

7:00--- (ish) Bus gets to Framingham, MA for only stop before NYC. No new passengers

7:30--- (ish) I remember that my directions for the NYC subway are still on my bed back home, as well as Erich's phone number. (Dammit)

10:30-- Bus gets to the Bronx, gets off I-95, and proceeds to start driving across Manhattan to the Port Authority

11:00-- Bus arrives at Port Authority, I exit and walk up into Times Square

11:10-- Finally find the Times Square subway entrance (no directions on me, remember), get my token, go downstairs, get on the subway going downtown.

11:25-- Learn that Houston is pronounced Hoe-ston, not Hew-ston. (ah... So-HO. got it)

11:30-- Get to South Ferry station at the end of Manhattan.

11:35-- Get up into the Ferry station just as the passenger loading door for the 11:30 ferry closes. Damn. Call LGM, leave message on answering machine, go down and get an italian sausage, look out over the harbor.

12:00-- Catch Staten Island Ferry.

12:40-- Meet up with LGM and go do some car-related errands

2:00--- See LGM's house for first time, get the car prepared, get packed up

3:00--- Do last-minute soda, food, and gas run

3:30--- Get out on the road. I'm driving.

3:45--- Get onto the New Jersey Pike, head for George Washington Bridge,

4:00--- Hit traffic. Damn.

5:30--- Finally get over George Washington Bridge. Left foot completely numb.

6:00--- Cross into Connecticut

6:45--- Stop at rest stop to get dinner and take bathroom break

7:00--- Back in car... car won't start. What the hell?

7:20--- Finally call roadside assistance through LGM's cell phone service

7:35--- Tow truck comes. Guy gets car started right off. It's flooded. Gives tips about starting car up if it happens

7:45--- Thank and tip him, back on road, get onto I-91, then I-84

9:45--- Cross into Massachusetts, get on I-90

10:30-- Reach my office's parking lot in Needham. LGM finally gets behind the wheel for the first time. Practices driving there, then drives us home.

11:45-- Get to Brookline where Grace lives. Park car, I get cab.

12:00-- (midnight) I call Erich, finally crash out.

Further details coming... must go get coffee.

10:37 a.m. - 1 July 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda