measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the insider

After all of the insanity last night, I was nearly konked out by about 9:30. Started dozing off with the TV on for white noise. Then around 10:30 or so, LGM calls, badgering me to take the job I mentioned briefly yesterday in my diary entry. (mind you, I haven't officially been offered this job... I've just gotten nudges for interest from my supervisors). I told him that I was interested, that I'd expressed interest to my boss, Linda, and that she and I would be talking about my thoughts sometime in the near future (I'm hoping this afternoon). Whether or not my thoughts were in English to LGM last night on the phone, I really can't say.

Lemme ask him on IM...

    Me: by the way... when you called last night, was I awake or slurring last night? I was so zonked I don't know if I was speaking English.

    LGM: you were awake, but a little slow.

I guess that should make me feel a bit better, then. At least I wasn't mumbling incoherantly.

But anyway... I digress as usual. So LGM calls, talks very briefly (probably because I was so zoned out), and then I crawl back into bed. Colley starts snuggling next to me, rubbing his head against my palm to curl up and get comfy.

So now that the phone's gotten me back up and moving, I can't get to sleep. So I turn the TV back on (I'd turned it off when the phone rang). And The Insider is on one of the pay channels. I've seen it before, but I begin watching it again.

Damn that's a good movie. Maybe because as a journalism major back in college, it rings close to home. I don't know. The premise of the story just fascinates me. And yeah, a lot of it is just Pacino. He plays the gritty investigative reporter so well. And Russell Crowe's character (and yes, I know these people exist... but this still is Hollywood), while having such important things to say and such frustrating things happen to him, still isn't the perfect hero. He's got some serious skeletons in his closet. So you can't outright like him, but you can't outright hate him, either.

It's just gripping. I can't explain it more than that. The ethical dilemma just grabs me.

Okay... rambling time over. Must get work done.

10:22 a.m. - 17 May 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda