measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wading through mountains of paper

It's been one of those days that hints at how nasty summer is most likely going to be. Mid 80's, just on the verge of being miserably humid, and my box fan in the window doing nothing to quelch the stagnant air inside my little studio apartment.

I can't make it to the air conditioner right now... I simply have too much paper in front of it. Put there originally so Colley didn't jump onto that windowsill and screw with the A/C unit. But now that it's getting warmer, it's time to reinstall it in the window... and watch my electricity bills skyrocket for the next couple months.

Paper. Ugh. I've been dealing with it all day. I am such a friggin' paper pack rat. All things considered, though, I got a lot done today as I waded through fb's and filled up boxes for some of my swappers. I've sent out over 40 letters this week. Scary, eh? I still have quite a few penpals to write back to, but I need to take a break and just vegg out in front of the TV tonight. I'll work on the books again tomorrow. If I were any less honest about this, I'd chuck them and start clean--but I'm an honest penpaller. These fb's don't belong to me--each one belongs to the person on the front of the fb. I'm just one of the many signers before each one (hopefully) makes it home to the owner.

I packed over 1,000 of them into boxes this week. And I still have a bunch everywhere I look. It's pathetic.

But I keep reminding myself--at least I'm not a pack-rat of say, old bags of chips or McDonalds wrappers. I remember one of my college friends seemed to think that it was a good idea to make a mountain of Quarter Pounder wrappers in his dorm room. The stench was horrific. I think B.U. charged him about $150 for damage to the room after he moved out.

If I actually got my swaps out quickly, I wouldn't have this problem. Everything would be in and out of here within a couple weeks. That's what I'm hoping to start doing now. Making a huge investment right away in sending everything off, and praying that I don't mistime everything and get a million letters back at the same time. Of course, that's probably what will happen... but it's a good dream.

*sigh* I think I need food. I'm hallucinating on my computer about paper. Not good.

--Mel.

8:30 p.m. - 12 May 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda