measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meeting new people

I have a date at lunch today. I think.

A couple months ago I was desperate enough to place a personal on the Yahoo classifieds. I got a response from a guy named Jeremy who lives in northcentral Mass. We chatted a bit, and as the talking went on, he was more and more persistent about talking on the phone.

I have a personal aversion of the phone--I just hate the thing. Even talking to my parents. I rarely will call people because I just don't like it. And I tried to explain this to him.

He didn't get it. He just kept asking.

So I kinda pulled away for a while because it was right as all of the b.s. with LGM was heating up just before I started this journal.

So about two weeks ago I was on AOL at the same time he was, and he IMed me. We were chatting again, and set a time to meet for today. But the calling thing happened again. I tried to explain to him during the IM, and it didn't seem to sink in. So I kept telling him I'd call, but my aversion to the phone just kept me from doing it (I literally felt sick to my stomach reaching for it).

On Friday I finally sent this letter to him:

Hi Jeremy--

It's about 10:30, and I've been debating whether or not to call tonight. I've had a really rough day with phone calls at work (our accounts payable department can make my job miserable some days), and I just don't want to go near the thing right now. I have always had a strong dislike for talking on the phone anyway, but with how my job's been going lately the dislike for dealing with it during my own time is getting worse--particularly when I'm needing to call someone that I really don't know. It just makes me extremely uncomfortable.

I know it might sound stupid and freaky, and I'm sorry. It's just a bit of self-protection since I don't know you any other way but through the internet. I feel more comfortable meeting in person in a public place than calling right now. I hope you'll understand and still want to get together on Sunday. But I had to let you know this because it's been driving me a bit nuts all week whether to tell you or not.

--Mel.

Am I being unreasonable? It's just that something doesn't seem to be sitting right, and I think it's his persistence in calling me. I'd rather meet someone in person in a public place than give them my phone number right away. Since I am a solo woman in the city, my caution senses are running in overdrive. If he has my phone number, he can find where I live in a matter of minutes.

I figure if I meet him face to face, that way I know what he looks like, and can see how he acts. And if that relieves some of my worry, then I'll give him my phone number.

I'm just wondering if he'll be showing up at noon.

--Mel

8:39 a.m. - 6 May 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda