measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Raining petals...

Ever see Practical Magic? If so, remember the scene where the flower petals make the ring around the little boy? That's kinda what seems to be happening outside this morning. The pink petals from the crabapple trees are floating everywhere in the breeze, turning around like snowflakes between the branches of the trees. It's just a neat view out my window this morning... along with the already extremely pretty green trees and huge poofballs of pink blossoms right outside my window (unless I look up outside the window, all I see are flowers and leaves!).

The only saddness I feel in seeing the petals blow around is knowing that they're now starting to fall off the trees, and this past week's explosion of flowers is coming to an end. EVERYTHING is in bloom at once here. The whole South End is looking like a postcard from some arboretum or indoor flower nursery. The green, pink, white, and purples against the brick sidewalks and black-iron rails on the stoops just makes the whole place look like it belongs on some other plane of existance.

Needless to say, I think it should stay this way all year!

The heat has finally disappeared. Three days straight of 90 degree heat (that's about 32 C for those outside the States). At least there was low humidity this go around--I'm afraid of seeing what will happen once July hits. Somehow this early heat gives a bad omen for the summer. I think I should pay my electric bill completely off because I'll be dealing with the jacked up rates for the air-conditioner all autumn!

It's smelling a bit like rain. I hope we get some this morning... after all of the sun, we probably have dried up quite a bit (well, relatively). I was hoping for thunderstorms yesterday. I miss good, powerful thunderstorms. Growing up in Montana, we'd get them around 5 pm every day... the thunder would rumble for almost an hour in warning, then the skies would get the darkest grey possible without turning completely black, and a 15-minute deluge of water would cool everything off for the evening. We don't get that here--we just get these misty days that seem like indecisive precipitation. Gimme some rumbles! They just excite me and give me that little fear that connects me back as simply an animal comprising one part of this world.

*sigh* I guess I'll just watch the pink "snow" for a while.

--Mel.

9:42 a.m. - 5 May 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda