measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

parental visits part 2

I guess this happens to everyone at some point in his/her life--

the realization that our parents are getting old. Mine came a couple days ago when my dad arrived at his hotel. For one, he's shaved off his mustache, which always (IMHO) made him look much younger, but both he and Ann think that it makes him look younger without it. He doesn't. I think he looks about 10 years older (mind you, my dad is 58) now. Without the mustache, his face looks plain, and since he has a bit of a double chin and the jowl-ey cheeks, you now see them, as opposed to being drawn the mustache on his face.

Maybe it's just because it's the first time I've EVER seen him without it. Ann said he outgrew it. I think my dad has given up on trying to act like he has youthful energy. I'm not talking acting immature... but there's a certain spark gone that I remember always seeing there. It's like a lot of the zest for live and adventure are gone, and now the desire for routine is setting in. I'm worried about him.

He had knee surgery last summer, and it's noticeable that he's not moving quite as well. It's hard to see. My dad is starting to age, and it's happened only in the last eight months or so (unless I just was completely blind to it before).

It's just weird. Our parents are supposedly living forever. But seeing my dad acting just... OLD.... is horrifying.

--Mel.

10:51 p.m. - 20 April 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda