measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

family visit

My dad and step-mother are on a plane somewhere between Montana and Minnesota right now, on their way here for the next few days. They'll get here early this evening.

I haven't seen them since last October, so I'm looking forward to spending time with them... and on my turf. =) My dad's coming for a medical meeting, so for Thursday and Friday, it's going to be just Anne and me. My dad will join us in the evenings for dinner and evening schtuff and then during the weekend he will join us for all-day activities (and my grandmother is also coming in for the weekend, so I'll pick her up on Saturday at the airport). Hopefully it'll warm up a bit so we can walk a bit. I hate taking cabs around Boston when it often doesn't save any time, and the price of taking the subway is only a buck. It just doesn't make sense to me to drop $25.00 on a cab fare with an insane driver when you can spend a buck and get there in just about the same amount of time.

I'm leaving the weekend mostly up to them to see what they want to do. At some point I'll want to show them my apartment. Probably tomorrow night or something. I still need to clean the bathroom (Colley decided to kick the litter OUT of the box last night) and vaccuum. It's not spotless, but if it were, I think my dad would be concerned. It's showable, I think. Especially for the whopping five to ten minutes *tops* that they'll be in the apartment. The "tour" of the place basically entails me pointing out the bathroom, and then walking to the center of the main room and going "here's the rest!" I can get that done tonight. No problem. Since I don't have to get up right away, I'll stay up late and get the last minute cleaning (and tossing stuff in the closet) done.

I have an appointment to donate platlets in the morning, but may reschedule it because the earliest I could get in was 9 am., and unless Ann wants to go walking by herself and do some morning things until nearly 11, I don't want to keep her waiting. She really hasn't seen a lot of Boston, because last time she was here, we didn't do the stuff that Dad had already seen. Plus, I figure Ann will want to do some shopping, which my dad's really not into. So we'll do some exploring.

Which reminds me... I need to pick up a combo subway pass for her tonight so she can get around. =)

Well... back to work. Since I'm taking tomorrow and Friday off, I'd better get this pile of paper cleaned up.

--Mel.

2:28 p.m. - 18 April 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda