measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I just couldn't *not* do anything

For the past week, I've seen this cute little grey shorthaired cat near my building. Every time I'd hold out my hand, he'd come right up to me. But he looked like he was *extremely* hungry, and today, I finally broke down and brought him in.

He has a tag, so I called the owners to let them know that I had him... and maybe they'd lost him. I was shocked to hear that they could care less that he was out, and that he'd been a cat left by the last owner, so they'd just taken care of him because they didn't want him to be brought to the pound, but they really didn't want him, and that I could definitely keep him because they were sick of taking care of him.

After THAT conversation, I called my vet, who happens to also be one of the rescue orgs that specializes in the Fenway/South End/lower Brookline area, and APPARENTLY this cat has been picked up several times (ID'ed because of the phone number... he was called "Pico"), and that if he was brought in again, the owners would have to pay a fine. I asked if they had any further info on him, and they had records that he had been immunized within the last three months for rabies, FIV, and distemper... so his shots are up to date. He's neutered, but not declawed. My vet said that they would be talking to the owners in the morning to relinquish control of the cat to me, but until then to keep Colley and "Pico" separate (Pico's in my bathroom, which is bigger than the cage they'd have him in at the shelter... and it's safer than being a block off Massachusetts Avenue, so I don't feel too guilty.)

So it looks like Colley just got a brother by fate. So... anyone have kitty name ideas? (I don't like Pico... it doesn't fit him since he's either a Russian Blue or blue-colored Tonkinese mix... I can't tell quite which). He's quite small, but then again, compared to Colley, just about any cat is tiny.

--Measi,

kitty!mother extraordinare

8:48 p.m. - 1 April 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda