measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ass-kicking green muppets

An advance apology for slipping into stupid speech for a second...

but DUUUUUUDE!

Okay... now that it's nearly 24 hours after going in to see Star Wars for the second time, and I've finally had some sleep, I can talk in some coherance.

Things I loved:

-- Seeing a movie in digital. When the letters on that green "this preview has been approved for all audiences" screen are crystal clear, it's quite impressive. :) Seriously, though-- the sharpness of digital only enhances the movie. You can see little details that are more easily missed on a regular screen. And I felt the colors were a bit brighter.

HOWEVER... after seeing it on a regular filmreel the next morning, I can tell you that it's just as enjoyable. And actually, I think the scenes on Naboo are better on a regular screen-- the celluloid gives it a softer, blended look that seemed to fit the scenes a bit better.

-- Yoda. I shouldn't have to say more. But it's about damn time.

-- Depth behind the Jedi order, both in its strength and traditions, and why it failed.

-- Sauraman... I mean Dooku. Christopher Lee is just the villain of the year. As [erich] said last night, Lee and McKellan are in a competition to see who can have the most action figures.

-- Less hype. This movie stands up on its own merits. AND is definitely watchable a second and third time. I noticed little things on second watching that I missed the first time around. Little things that have become routine in the later episodes (earlier movies...gah, this is confusing), but are "new" here.

Things I didn't like so much

-- On first viewing, the romance scenes drag, but at the same time, don't seem to go to more than a superficial level, so the overall picture of the romance between them seems too rushed to me. Where I felt Portman and Christiansen did very well on the action-oriented scenes of the movie, the dialogue in the romance scenes seemed wooden and forced. Granted, this is where the deepest character development of the movie happens.

-- Not enough lightsabers, but I could say that about all of the movies. *grin*

Seriously, though-- it was a good movie. And one that stands well with the rest of the Star Wars universe. Far better than Phantom Menace. And uniquely "dark" in tone, although Episode III will definitely be even darker than this one.

Ah, my little geek heart is content. :)

9:48 a.m. - 17 May 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda