measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Holiday weekend looking back

Let me start this entry by saying-- yes, I am alive. I've been wicked busy, but I am alive... and doing okay. I've been on email, but not as much as I'd like. My fault. Moo?

A lot of the insanity has been due to a new bigger-boss (my third in four years... whee) at work. The scary thing is that she actually KNOWS WHAT SHE'S DOING. Morale already has improved tenfold at work because we finally have an upper manager who not only appears to give a shit about the people who work for her, but she's actually working to IMPROVE things and keep everyone in the loop. Linda (my direct manager) is happy as a clam. I'm psyched, and others seem to really like Carole as well.

I can sum Carole up in a quick description: Highly motivated, intelligent, down-to-earth woman. One of those bosses that you know will fight like hell to get what she wants, but that you also have no fear of talking to about something that might concern you.

Of course, said motivation has created a lot of insanity in my work lately, but it's actually been in a good way. Already I'm getting a lot more respect from the management level for being a competent admin (something I've felt my department hasn't exactly felt all the time-- more because I'm strung out being one admin for 37 people-- but they don't see that).

So work's been busy. Next week should be a bit quieter-- Linda's out of town for the week, Carole's in New Jersey for the first two work days. That gives me some desk dumpout time and time to do the stupid stuff... like filing.

Data entry, however, won't happen-- I'm saving it up until the last week of the month, when life becomes absolute hell for a week. That week I'll work, but I'm working from home as much as possible since they're closing the highways for SIXTEEN MILES in each direction going in and out of Boston.

Fucking nuts. If it weren't such an important election to vote Democratic, I'd seriously be debating my vote. More rants on that bout of forsaken hell will come shortly.

MOVING ON, however...

On Thursday I went to the doctor for my annual physical and blood tests. Everything's fine on the physical end. I'm waiting for the blood test results, hoping that my thyroid IS the reason I can't seem to lose any weight (three months on Weight Watchers, no weight lost?). I should find out sometime mid-month due to holiday and vacation issues. It's a bit odd praying to find something wrong, but I can't figure out anything else that could be wrong... and there's got to be a reason for the lack of weight loss, as well as my constant fatigue, lack of motivation to do anything, and inability to sleep well.

So who knows-- I'm hoping that they find something.

We've been having some wicked thunderstorms over the last week. We had a HUGE storm early Friday morning at around 4 a.m. I never got back to sleep. The lightning was non-stop, and some of the thunderbooms were pretty damn close to the apartment. It spooked the cats into activeness, and I just gave up getting any more sleep that night.

Which led to me being a zombie for Friday at work.

Friday night Erich and I went to the drive-in to see Spiderman 2. It's been several years since I saw a PACKED drive-in, but nearly every space was filled. People had their sleeping bags out on the lawns and citronella candles burning to avoid mosquitos. Erich and I parked the Jeep backwards, put all the seats down, and stretched out in the back. We even stayed for the second movie (13 going on 30-- wasn't quite as bad as I thought it was going to be). Spidey was quite good. A few plot holes that were rather gaping, but overall a very fun summer movie.

We got home at around 2 a.m. At which time, Demon!Gus decided he was going to be an absolute terror. I nearly gave up getting any sleep by about 3:30, but the cat finally crashed out himself, and I fell asleep very shortly afterwards... only to wake up at 8 a.m. due to my allergies.

Which led me to being something beyond a zombie for Saturday. Two naps didn't even fix everything. But somehow I found the energy to get some stuff done, and then attend dinner over at Erich's dad's house-- complete with Quincy town fireworks.

Our fourth was quiet for the most part. Jason headed up to New Hampshire for the day, leaving Erich and I the apartment to putter around in. Erich spent a good portion of it playing City of Heroes. I blew nearly the entire day on the Sims-- now that I have the PC version (which I'm sad to say is far better-- and works better-- than the Mac one). We went over to a friend's house for dinner grilling and some small illegal fireworks (shhh...). Afterwards we drove home to the 1812 Overture, which apparently has moved up in the Pops Goes the Fourth lineup (no longer at the end), got home, watched the rest of the concert (David Lee Roth and the Pops!!!!) and the fireworks on TV. The weather could NOT have been nicer for the fourth-- mid 70's, not that humid, with no rain or wind. No complaints at all.

I donated platelets this morning, and for some reason it REALLY hit me badly... I've spent the better portion of the day a bit weak and feeling a little spinny. The nice weather we had yesterday has turned into ass for today-- it's rainy and miserable. Another good Sims day. :)

And that's my life in a nutshell. How's everyone else?

~ Mel.

7:51 p.m. - 05 July 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda