measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A day from hell

First.. You vant to become a vampire, no? Come my pretty....

Heh.

Yesterday was a day from hell-- basically a clusterfuck at work over the legalese of work for hire contracts, thanks partially to an error on my part over which contracts we've been consistently using for the past two years (whoops), but more because a couple project managers completely fucked up in not getting contracts in place for two major vendors-- both of which ran over $100K in work.

*sigh*

And one of them tried to pin the entire garbage on me, claiming that I didn't do the contracts she assigned (I did-- she had them in her hand at the meeting) and that she didn't know more are needed (hello?? you're working with them and assigning them work?!?). Thankfully I had kept emails that showed that I was asking her, along with all of the other contract-producing employees, repeatedly to please tell me what needed to be done and to make sure all of their vendors were contracted and squared away so I could essentially give her a professional version of the middle finger.

Regardless, the whole ordeal pisses me off. I hate fucking up like I did with the contracts themselves-- but it was my screw up, so I freely admitted the fuck up, got the correct copies, and am moving forward.

The whole thing led me into an extremely foul mood that ended up in a couple of rum and cokes at the end of the night-- blowing a good chunk of any flex points I have for Weight Watchers this week. But dammit, that's what they're there for. I lost myself being El Presidente for a while, building pineapple groves and cigar factories. My island minions kept bitching that they were starving and "suffering for lack of medical treatment". Grrr...

Two good things that came out of last evening: 1) Hotel room for this weekend and 2) Hotel room for WorldCon over Labor Day weekend... at the Copley Marriott (woo hoo!). At some point that weekend, we'll probably invite everyone over to hang out, have a quieter party, and just be geeky for a while.

Overnight Gus was being a pain in the ass. Jason shut his bedroom door around 12:30 a.m. as I was just finishing reading a chapter for the night. Around 2, the cat starts scratching at the carpet-- which wakes me. I spend the next half-hour shooing him away from the closed door, and finally said "fuck it" and opened Jason's door before plopping back into bed, only to stay awake thanks to the sound of water dripping in the wall.

Around 3:15, Jason was woken up, got up and made some sort of a drink for himself, and Gus was still at it... so I came out and flopped on the couch for a while. A few minutes later, Jay went back to his room and shut the door-- and Gus IMMEDIATELY went back to scratching. I knocked and told Jason that if he was going to shut his door, he needed to pull the runner rug through the space under the bottom of the door and the floor so the cat couldn't get to the carpet. He did so with a bit of griping, which pissed me off.

I think I'm entitled to get some sleep, too- and we've been over this problem several times. However, since it doesn't affect their sleep directly, there's no sympathy or understanding given to the issue (i.e. "Not My Problem.") Unlike the two guys, I don't sleep well as it is-- and while they sleep through the cat destroying our house, I'm woken up by it and spend half the night chasing him away from a shut door. Mind you, said door is to the room where he was weaned... AND where the human he's latched to (Jason) is sleeping. Of *course* he wants to get in the room.

So needless to say, I'm exhausted today-- barely awake thanks to about two and a half hours lost of sleep (giving me a total of around 4.5 hours last night). The last thing I needed to hear was a complete lie of "well, I didn't close my door until around 3:30-- it was open until then" as we walked in the office.

This weekend can't come soon enough.

And nor can the fucking week in Florida.

10:00 a.m. - 06 May 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda