measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Found on CNN

Krispy Kreme says diets hurt doughnut sales.

"This [low-carb] phenomenon has affected us most heavily in our off-premises sales channels, in particular sales of packaged doughnuts to grocery store customers," CEO Scott Livengood said in a statement. "

Dude... Krispy Kreme doughnuts have to be some of the WORST things for you on earth. It's not an issue of low-carb. Your doughnuts have higher than AVERAGE carbs. Low-carb for you guys would be a person getting a triple burger with cheese at Wendys, plus a biggie fry.

I've watched them get made-- I've seen that SHEET OF ICING. It's a white waterfall of gooey sugar with no breaks or imperfections. My arteries harden just looking at it. That sheet of icing alone accounts for monumental carb heights.

Now, I've tried Krispy Kreme doughnuts on a few occasions-- until recently, I'd only had cold ones (which were sweet, but nothing to write home about). I've tried warm and hot ones at the Krispy Kreme shop-- and they're good, but they're *too* sweet for me. I actually feel queasy after eating one.

I've heard them equated to sugar orgasms, and that hot ones are pretty close to being as good as sex. Everyone seems to rave about them.

I didn't find them as spectacular as the hype. In fact, I doubt that I'd go get one on more than a rare occasion. I'm probably one of the few people-- who aren't diabetic-- who feels that way.

But other than watching the nifty machine make them, I don't see what the hype is about.

~ Mel.

9:07 a.m. - 07 May 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda