measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Amelia Mary

My aunt Vicky and uncle Jeff had their fourth child on Tuesday, the 20th... Amelia Mary. Seven pounds, eleven ounces, and 20 inches long... with a good head of dark brown hair. Mom called me to let me know last night. :) And Vicky and Jeff are going to be busy, busy people with four girls under the age of eight.

I'm not going near that house when Amelia turns 11-- the teenage/preteen nightmare images of sibling fights are already astounding.

So now I have yet another cousin that is of an age difference that it could be my child. I kinda feel sorry for Amelia and her sisters-- I don't know if they have any cousins on Jeff's side of the family, but on Vicky's side, all of the cousins are grown up now. I'm 29, my brother (Scott... the one I never talk about) turns 26 next month, and my cousin Kathryn turns 17 in less than a week.

Of course, my mom probably feels pretty weird gaining new nieces in her late fifties, too. :)

I'm very happy for Vicky and Jeff. Amelia's birth is a bit bittersweet, though. Grandma was so excited for this baby. Even as she weakened, she was planning to help Vicky take care of her, just as she had with the last three.

And part of me hopes that Vicky and Jeff have had their last child -- since Vicky was already overwhelmed taking care of the three that she had, my mom and I were scratching our heads about why a fourth was even in the picture when she was so busy. The answer is that Vicky and Jeff are die-hard Catholics and won't use birth control because the Pope says not to.

*sigh*

And I empathize with Amelia a lot-- she was born 5 months after Grandma died. I was born five months after my Grandfather Raymer died. She'll grow up hearing all of the "Grandma was such a wonderful person..." stories-- including some from me -- and wonder from time to time what a single day with grandma would be like so she could meet the mysterious person...

And now Gus is reaching up to bat at my fingers on the keyboard... so I have to go tickle a belly...

8:39 a.m. - 24 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Amelia Mary

My aunt Vicky and uncle Jeff had their fourth child on Tuesday, the 20th... Amelia Mary. Seven pounds, eleven ounces, and 20 inches long... with a good head of dark brown hair. Mom called me to let me know last night. :) And Vicky and Jeff are going to be busy, busy people with four girls under the age of eight.

I'm not going near that house when Amelia turns 11-- the teenage/preteen nightmare images of sibling fights are already astounding.

So now I have yet another cousin that is of an age difference that it could be my child. I kinda feel sorry for Amelia and her sisters-- I don't know if they have any cousins on Jeff's side of the family, but on Vicky's side, all of the cousins are grown up now. I'm 29, my brother (Scott... the one I never talk about) turns 26 next month, and my cousin Kathryn turns 17 in less than a week.

Of course, my mom probably feels pretty weird gaining new nieces in her late fifties, too. :)

I'm very happy for Vicky and Jeff. Amelia's birth is a bit bittersweet, though. Grandma was so excited for this baby. Even as she weakened, she was planning to help Vicky take care of her, just as she had with the last three.

And part of me hopes that Vicky and Jeff have had their last child -- since Vicky was already overwhelmed taking care of the three that she had, my mom and I were scratching our heads about why a fourth was even in the picture when she was so busy. The answer is that Vicky and Jeff are die-hard Catholics and won't use birth control because the Pope says not to.

*sigh*

And I empathize with Amelia a lot-- she was born 5 months after Grandma died. I was born five months after my Grandfather Raymer died. She'll grow up hearing all of the "Grandma was such a wonderful person..." stories-- including some from me -- and wonder from time to time what a single day with grandma would be like so she could meet the mysterious person...

And now Gus is reaching up to bat at my fingers on the keyboard... so I have to go tickle a belly...

8:39 a.m. - 24 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda