measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A wild weekend ride

My 29th birthday was relatively peaceful-- we did some errands. We went out for sushi. I talked to Mom, and then a bit later, I got the bombshell of a phone call from my father.

Said phone call pretty much went like this-- lots of talking about little everyday stuff that don't have a huge amount of importance in life. A few mentioning of things more important (i.e. my dad asking me how my grandfather is doing after grandma's death-- still no acknowledgement that she was *my* grandmother and that I also suffered a loss, mind you). And at the end, my dad's somewhat flippant, somewhat annoyed "Can we please not let silence go for an entire year this time?"

I pointed out to him that I'd simply been waiting for a reply to my letter.

His response? He's trying to forget the letter and events, but not the emotion behind them.

Yeah, I hear the sweep of that broom trying to hide things under the rug too. And it won't happen.

He did sound subdued. He sounded a bit wary-- kind of that timid "is she going to bite my head off?" tone that men take when their girlfriends or wives are pissed off-- and the men know that they're pissed off.

But overall-- I was very cautious to be polite, to be civil. I treated him like family, albeit extended family. But I was rather surprised at how unemotional I was during the call- I wasn't relieved to hear from him, I wasn't annoyed or happy to hear from him. I was rather apathetic. Mostly because I know he's been extremely apathetic about the situation to everyone else.

I've received letters from my aunt and uncle in Arizona (whom I've never met in person) who mentioned missing me at my father's 60th birthday party in September in Pennsylvania. I'm sure it slipped my father's mind to mention that I would have never been aware of said party had I not had to make an emergency trip to Pennsylvania for a funeral and my surviving grandmother mentioning the event to me. Nor was my brother in attendance at the event. He didn't know about it until the same moment-- only three weeks before it, when both of us live far too far away to make this an easy quick trip.

In any case, he called. Other than the fact that he finally gave a shit about me to call, it was not an earth-moving event in any form. I'm not quite sure how to feel about it-- lots of emotions right now. *shrug*

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What's been driving me crazy and really setting off more emotions right now is the Jeep. I got it Tuesday. On Wednesday, I was home ill. Jason took it to work, and then had trouble starting it that evening. He finally got it home. We figured maybe it was just the battery since it had been sitting for two months without running at all.

Erich took it over to his dad's, then over to Tone's as he did errands. It died at Tone's. Would not start. At all.

Fuck. Fuck. Fuck.

Mind you, I'm in tears-- here I've been waiting to get this car back, and it's broken again.

We get it towed on Thursday evening, since it thankfully was right in front of someone's house and not on a roadway that would cause a problem. Took it to the Jeep dealership.

They replaced the fuel pump that had already been replaced back in October. Apparently we received a refurbished/remanufactured one from the shop in Connecticut (bastards). Anyway... they replace it. I get the Jeep back on Friday night.

Saturday was cold as shit around here. Want to know how cold shit is? Well... just come to New England again this Thursday-- cold as shit. Painfull ass weather. I don't miss this from my Montana childhood at all.

So we didn't drive the Jeep, because frankly, no one wanted to go anywhere! We had a game, we watched the nail-biting Pats game. We went to bed, shivering under the covers.

On Sunday, we did errands. Jeep worked great. No problems-- we went to Natick and back, and multiple places in-between to get Tone's car dropped off, books bought at Battleground, and poker supples for Jason's desire to have a poker game at the house. Since we were out in the Natick area, we scrapped my original plan for going out for Mexican food and grabbed sushi while we were out that way instead. I'm not sure whether or not to be concerned that I actually like octopus nigiri.

On Monday morning, Jeep won't start again.

My brain just imploded-- between work hell yesterday and the car, I was officially in "I can't take this anymore" mode.

We get it towed back to the Jeep dealership last night. I dropped off the keys this morning.

Meanwhile, we've had to push off a planned get-together with Ade three or four times now because of Jeep issues and being too far from the house. I feel horrid, but it's just one of those difficult weeks... *sigh*

Pardon me while I collapse for a while. I need a vacation...

10:25 a.m. - 13 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda