measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have angered the Cat and Mac gods...

My hair color came out great-- I've received a lot of compliments on it already. I was a bit worried when I first saw it under the light in our bathroom-- but bathroom lighting seems to be one of those things that is never allowed to be flattering.

Now I just need to get my bangs trimmed so I can SEE... and we'll be all set here.

Unfortunately, I also get bad mother of the year award due to yesterday's coloring stunt.

I'm always careful to wipe up the bathroom after coloring my hair-- that stuff always drips, and with cats around, gotta be careful because let's face it-- the stuff in hair coloring could easily be used as a WMD if you got enough of it. Toxic as hell. Bleh.

So I wipe the floor up and we head over to Erich's dad's apartment for dinner and a fun evening of poker-- Texas Hold'em style (we played for pennies). Around 9:30, we get home, and as always the cats are at the door to greet us.

LGM picks up Gus, and immediately asks in a concerned tone-- "why is his face red?" The first reaction is that his little scuffles with Fizzy have finally tipped her over the edge and she gave him a nasty clawing, so he had blood on his face.

But no... it wasn't blood. In fact, it wasn't even red.

And the realization of what happened dawned on me and I ran to the bathroom.

You guessed it... Gus found a spot that I'd missed with that insanely curious, talented nose of his, rubbed his forehead, the side of his ear, and his cheek on it, and bleached his fur in litte speckles and sweeping brushes. And what happens if a dark brunette tries to go blonde by simply using blonde hair dye?

You got it .. He's got orange spotted fur on his face now. That unhealthy sick orange that I associate with elderly dark-haired women who desperately want to go blonde rather than grey, and it honestly looks worse orange THAN grey.

Erich and I immediately started washing off his face to get any remaining chemical stuff out of the fur, and checked his paws (which were devoid of any orange... surprisingly). Thankfully he must have had his eye closed-- because his eye is fine. His ears are fine. He's romping around like a normal kitten, completely oblivious to the stupidity of his mother and his now tie-dyed face.

The new question is-- how long will it take for permanent hair dye to grow out of cat fur.. short face fur?

*sigh*

It's not absolutely horrible, mind you-- in a way, it even looks cute. But oh, how I'm wincing. *sigh*

On the other "Mel angers things" spectrum, I have officially angered the Macintosh gods, and must atone for my sins by doing something... if I could figure out what it was. *sigh*

On Friday night, Erich, LGM and I went to the Bayside Expo Center in Boston for one of those discount sale events... which translate to an indoor flea market for cheap stuff cheap... and the occasional good find. Erich's good find was a computer place that had new equipment, either preconstructed or in parts, and he built me a PC to use for the LAN's we go to, since my Mac laptop is limited by both computer brand and processing speed for many of the games (Halo, Unreal Tournament, etc) that we play. He'd talked about eventually doing this for me anyway... but the prices at this sale were apparently good deals, and he wound up purchasing the supplies to build me a computer roughly as good as his for about $600, including the case.

This purchase continues my family tradition of my getting at least one combination present for Christmas/my birthday (since it's 3 weeks after Christmas), and in this case, Valentine's Day and probably... oh, Beltane or something. :)

I picked out the case... It's completely black with a clear side panel. Two blue neon strips outline the front of the case, and the fan on the side glows purple and blue... it's quite slick looking... and also quite girly. :) Erich still needs to load up Windows on it, and then I can start loading the games I've played on his computer. I'm going to get an adapter for my Mac monitor because it's in good shape and honestly... there's no reason to buy another one when this one is a 17 inch screen that works wonderfully. *shrug*

So anyway... on Sunday evening, my laptop decides that it's no longer going to run my Finder-- which for those of you who don't use a Mac... picture trying to run your PC when there's no desktop and you have no access to anything on your computer except what's in your shortcut bar. I can run any programs that are on the shortcut bar... but nothing else right now. *sigh*

So I'm working on that problem... it's taking some time, but I think I can fix it. It's a matter of some frags within the main directory tree.

Then I come into work this morning, and my computer at work won't start up properly, either-- it gets to the startup disk, and then stalls, smiling at me in sheer pleasure as I squirm.

Two Macs down in less than 12 hours.

Yeah, those are great odds, lemme tell ya.

*sigh*

I need to placate the Mac gods now. How long does it take to atone for owning a PC, anyway?

*sighs again*

1:13 p.m. - 15 December 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda