measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"He could get a guest shot on Wild Kingdom...\"

Erich and I brought home our tree last night. We didn't get it decorated yet-- it needed to thaw out and settle a bit first, so we simply set it up in the tree stand and let the branches begin to settle as they warmed up.

The cats, of course, were FASCINATED with the tree. Lots of sniffing, a bit of nibbling and branch batting. All three were quite happy to be in the living room last night, hanging out in front of their new toy.

Little (or should I say big... since he's just a tad bit smaller than Fizz now) Gus, who had not seen a tree since we rescued him at four weeks old, was estatic about the thing. He was in a serious kitten!frenzy for the better part of the night, racing from on top of the bookcase, across the living room, and WHAM! Into the wall behind the tree. This frenzy was complete with Gus!Yowling, which is a very odd sound that sounds halfway between a happy meow and a wail of pain. He only really does it while he's in kitten!frenzy mode.

Yes, folks... we have another Radioactive Stupid Cat on our hands. I wonder if it's a black cat thing...

All three took their turn drinking tree water. I'm realizing I really won't have to fill the cat water bowls until New Year's... they're all going to come straight to the tree stand for that pine-spiked water. It must be heroin or something to them... because the stand was nearly dry this morning, between what the tree took in and what the cats drank. I think watering the tree is about to become a twice-daily affair.

Tonight I'll spend decorating the tree with Erich. It's a very pretty, full one-- I'm hoping we have enough lights for it. I know we have enough decorations. :) Now that we have a mix of inherited ornaments from both families, it's going to feel more like the beginning of a tradition. This will be my first Christmas away from any family. It's going to feel a bit weird. I ordered my oplatki (Polish Christmas wafers) for Christmas Eve dinner, since I'm planning on cooking this year. I realized that I'll have to try out a couple of the dishes before Christmas so I've had some practice on them. Somehow I don't think Erich's going to complain... :)

The snow is finally starting to melt. And some of the larger cities and towns that did piss-poor plowing are realizing they need to finally get a clue and actually get the snow OFF of the storm drains so the water has somewhere to go. We're supposed to get about an inch of rain tomorrow and temps in the low 50's. This snow will melt fast... and we'll have water everywhere.

Which will, of course, freeze, and make this entire state a huge ice-skating rink come Friday or Saturday.

*sigh*

Ah well... at least it still looks relatively pretty. :)

11:02 a.m. - 10 December 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda