measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

meh. meh. mmmmm..... 'puterrrrr....

I'm finding myself just going through the motions these days, and I really don't like it. The car issue has me extremely strung out. My shitty ass bank won't bother to return my phone calls regarding the missing funds from my account, causing me to bounce several checks. And well, work's work. And NaNoWriMo is sapping the rest of my energy.

What's new, eh?

I swear, November is starting to become one of my all-time bitchfest months. Not intentionally. Honestly, while things are a pain in the ass, they're deal-able (for lack of a better word). I know I'll get through it. It's not the end of the world. It's just a pain in the ass for the time being.

But I'll try to concentrate on happy thoughts this time around, in hopes that I'll feel a bit better.

Starting with my new giftie at work yesterday around noon--- a new 'puter. :) My little blue and white iMac from 1997 was replaced with a spiffy new iMac (the white one with the crane neck) yesterday. It looks so clean and cheery on my desk. Granted, the blue one added a lot of color, but this one just looks so... sleek. :)

And I have to say, the new screen is so much easier to read. It's amazing what a flat screen on a computer-- in wide screen format, no less, will do for your work load. Already I'm noticing a difference because I don't have to struggle with my glasses to see the things I need to read on-screen. If I get glare from a light overhead, I can just tilt it a bit. If I'm on the other side of my cube and need to glance over my shoulder to read something on-screen for whatever I'm working on, I can do so without turning the entire computer.

I'm seriously digging this thing.

Granted, it takes some getting used to. I realized yesterday as I was organizing my files from my old hard drive that I'd never printed anything from OS X... I've run the system software for two years at home, but don't have a printer at home... so it's an issue that has never come up. As a matter of principle, I was NOT going to call the help desk to help me set up my printers or servers. I got that down pretty well. But it was figuring out where the heck my alternative to print from a manual feed was on the damn print window... (I did find it, and then gave myself a mental whack for idiocy).

And the IT department left iTunes on it... so I now can bring CD's to work... ONCE. They can come home with me, for the unlikely event that I'll be driving a car with a working CD player one of these days.

Other good stuff happening? The LAN party is this weekend. We did this last year just before Thanksgiving-- drive out to the Cape (Cape Cod, for those unfamiliar with proper terminology), spend a weekend with the guys on computers blowing the shit out of each other (it's theraputic... honestly), and eating food our mothers would freak over.

Should be a good time. :)

Next week's Thanksgiving. Erich and I are taking the Acela Express down to New York on Wednesday. We'll probably grab dinner in New York City before heading out on the bus to Easton. I'm looking forward to going down there again and giving my grandpa a big hug. Mom says he's hanging in there. Hopefully having family around him will help out a bit with the holiday loneliness.

Oh, and I cracked 25,000 words last night on my NaNoWriMo novel. I still don't feel that happy about things, but at least that looming halfway marker is done. I'll be working on it tonight again-- I'm here until at least six thirty this evening, since LGM felt like ass and went home for the day (taking the car). I'll have some post-work quiet time here in the office to just get some scribbling done.

So despite my bitching lately, there are good things happening, too. I just seem to be oblivious about them.

Just kick me. Seriously-- I do know that I'm still pretty well off, all things considered.

~ mel.

2:34 p.m. - 18 November 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda