measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Frosty Morning

The cold part of the year has arrived here in New England-- we had our first freeze overnight, leaving a layer of frosty ice all over everything. It's sent the trees into heavy leaf-dropping mode, and will probably have all of my uncovered flower boxes in crumpled heaps by the end of the week. And thankfully, I don't have to deal with it all week. I'm counting down until Wednesday morning.... and then I get to go to Florida for a long weekend. *sigh*

My mom and I are meeting up in Tampa, and then driving down to Sarasota for the weekend. Last spring she, my uncle John, and my grandfather went in together to buy a family vacation/retirement(?) home in Sarasota. Mom has invited six of her friends, and we're having a girls' weekend out.

Heh. This is dangerous.

And I sooooooo need it right now. I seriously can't wait. I've been holding vacation days all year for this trip.

The weekend wasn't too bad. We had a game on Saturday over at Tone's place-- finally giving into ultimate geekdom and playing in the garage of his mother's house. We all had a good laugh about it, too, as we sat at the table. Erich quoting the dangers of Dungeons & Dragons from behind the door was creepy-- he does the voices from the original skit entirely too well (surprise, surprise).

Unfortunately the cold got to me early, and I was shivering all night, even with three layers of clothes on. Parts of my back are still sore from the constant muscle spasms for ten hours. I'm thinking we should invest in a space heater for next time-- because the space is perfect. It's just unheated, which would suck badly in the middle of winter. But since we have so many people allergic to cats, we do have to find alternates to playing at our apartment. And honestly, there were too many people to manage to play comfortably in our apartment on Saturday. We don't have the seating or table space. Maybe if we rearranged the living room for games, we could do it-- but the cat issue still remains.

We need the old basement of Erich's parents' house.

Perhaps if Erich and I ever buy a house, we should make a room dedicated to gaming, make sure it stays shut when we're NOT gaming to keep the cats out, and solve the problem that way.

*sigh*

Anyway, I digress....

We had a good game. Very busy, lots of weird stuff, but very good. I just had difficulty concentrating because I was so cold. *sigh*

Yesterday was a slack-off day. I caught up on some penpalling email and character sheets. I almost had a heart attack when my Outlook program crapped out on me, but thanks to some online investigation by Erich for troubleshooting, I managed to get it repaired without losing any email. (I'll be cleaning out the email while I'm in Florida).

The Pats won. We could care less about the World Series now that the Red Sox aren't in it. (small "Go Fish!" inserted here...)

And now it's off to my two day workweek.

Wheeee!

9:11 a.m. - 20 October 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda