measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am insane

This should come as no surprise to anyone who knows me in real life. Whether it's good insanity or bad insanity-- well, you decide.

My first action as Municipal Liason for "Massachusetts: Everywhere Else" (which sums up the area not in area code 413, and anything in Boston) was to contact all of the participants in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts who had ID's for NaNoWriMo and invite them to become active on the forums.

After going through 18 pages of them, I see the post this morning from Chris at NaNo headquarters that they'll be sending the auto-bots to delete inactive accounts starting on the 15th.

Meep. *sigh*

Hopefully I didn't waste too much time on too many people not participating this year. If nothing else, I got a lot of exercise on my pinkies from doing "option-paste" and "return" over the past couple days.

LGM brought home some fabulous trial software for novel writing. It's one of those building block programs with a full exercise to take you through developing characters and outlining plot ideas to saving little brainstorming sessions. I played around with it a bit yesterday. I plan on putting it to serious use later this week.

Tonight I'm reserving to get ALL of my penpalling stuff finished for October so I can focus on NaNo until November 30th. Other than moderating lists, I'm just going to step back a bit for the next few weeks, participating in the minimum number of organized swaps to keep me "active" on all groups. A few of the list moderators are a bit over-zealous with people being active on their lists. Great groups of people to swap with, but it gets a bit stupid sometimes.

It was a busy, but fun weekend. The autumn colors are really starting to brighten up. Some areas along my trip to work are nearly at peak color. Route 24 just outside Randolph is ablaze in reds, oranges, and yellows. I've been here ten years-- it still amazes me how vibrant autumn colors are here. I don't think I'll ever get "used" to them. I spent a lot of time staring out the windows as we drove down highways this weekend, excited when I saw a patch of trees in full-color.

LGM went up to spend Friday evening in New Hampshire with Greg and Kelly, so Erich and I took advantage of the time to have a couple's night out. We grabbed Indian food at a little place I've been wanting to try down in Norwood. The food was good, but the company was nicer. :) On Saturday we did some shopping and errands in the morning, and then just hung out for the afternoon. When LGM returned home Saturday evening, we had a game session of his game-- a one-shot that has developed into a full campaign. It was a non-combat session with lots of character-development interaction and some serious recon/investigation going on. I had a good time-- I think everyone else did, too.

Erich and I attended the wedding of a couple of his college friends yesterday afternoon down in Rhode Island. It was a small ceremony in the backyard of one of the bride's relatives, and definitely could be classified as a geek wedding. :) We didn't stay too long-- Erich had a cold and I was extremely tired after a horrid night of sleep the night before, but we made sure to make an appearance for the ceremony itself and for a brief bite to eat. It was primarily a family affair for the couple, who have been together for several years and own a house together.

Today I'm stuck at work while about 95% of the population seems to have the day off. Most people have to take it off, regardless, because daycares and schools are closed. You'd think it would send a clue, right? There's literally about 20 of us out of over 200 in this building. But since we don't want to waste a day off, we're here.

Me thinks I'll take advantage of the beautiful day and duck out a bit early....

1:41 p.m. - 13 October 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda