measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's how I've spent the last 24 hours

I'm fucking tired. After our dinner gets here, I'm going to bed.

But as a brief, ranting recap...

8:00 p.m. Wednesday-- Erich leaves for New York City to pick up LGM and his stuff. His plan is to spend the night there, and then drive back today (Thursday).

I spend the evening replying to emails and chatting with Minarae via AIM online.

11:30 p.m. -- It's getting late. I say good night to Min, and start getting ready for bed.

11:45 p.m. -- The phone rings. It's Erich, according to the caller ID. I'm amazed that he's gotten to S.I. so fast. Turns out... no, he's not there. He's in Connecticut, where the Jeep has died. The tow truck won't be there until at least 1 a.m. We talk briefly, and it's decided that at some point in the near future, I need to head down there in Erich's car. He gets off the phone to call LGM.

I call work to inform them of the situation.

I then realize that I need to head down ASAP. He's on I-95... in southern Connecticut, which means that traffic is going to SUCK during the day.

Midnight: Erich calls back. I let him know that I should head down tonight to avoid the morning rush hour traffic of several Northeast cities. I'd rather get there and crash out than risk the horrid traffic of I-95 during the workweek. I get the details of where he is, and then begin cleaning out Erich's car, since it will have to substitute for the Jeep in getting LGM's stuff.

1 a.m.: I email Minarae:

midnight-- Erich calls. Jeep has died in Fairfield, CT. He's at a rest stop. AAA is coming, won't be there until 1 a.m. (Jeep isn't turning over... I think the ignition has finally died)

I've spent the last hour cleaning out *Erich's* car, and am now about to leave to head down to CT to get HIM... at 1 a.m.... which should put me in CT at around 3:30 a.m., crash at a hotel there for a few hours, then go get LGM in Staten Island.

Meanwhile, I'm hoping that the Jeep can actually get fixed, because I don't know what the hell else I"m going to do.

Grrrrrrrrr....

If you don't hear from me by Friday, start getting concerned and call me on my cell-- XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Grrrr....

~ mel.

1:15 a.m. -- I get over to the gas station in Randolph, fill the tank, and buy two 20 oz bottles of Mt. Dew.

1:30 a.m.-- I get on the road. Within the next half-hour, I have consumed both 20 oz. bottles of Mt. Dew. I start getting overdose shakes from the caffeine.

Over the course of the next hour, Erich and I call each other off and on to keep tabs on what's going on, where I am, where he is, etc. The towing company drops him off at a local motel. I'll meet him there.

4:00 a.m. -- I arrive in Fairfield, CT and get to the motel where Erich is. We give each other a hug, and promptly crash.

7:00 a.m.-- My fucking internal alarm clock wakes me up. I will doze a bit off and on until 8:30, but never really get back to sleep.

9:30 a.m.-- Erich gets a hold of the repair shop, who has determined that the fuel pump has blown on the Jeep. They will be checking to see if they can get it fixed today. They call back a bit later-- they can. It's going to be somewhere in the $500 and change.

We leave the motel, grab coffee, and get on the road to Staten Island.

12:30 p.m.-- We get to LGM's mother's home. We pack the car, have pizza, and receive word that the Jeep is ready to be picked up (back in CT).

1:30-- We leave Staten Island.

3:15 p.m.-- We pick up the Jeep. I'm too tired to drive, so LGM drives the Jeep with me in it, and Erich drives his car. We stop briefly at IHOP next to the repair shop to grab food, and then head home.

7:45 p.m.-- We get back home.

Grrrrr.......

8:43 p.m. - 02 October 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda