measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's NaNo Time!

Ah yes... signups for NaNoWriMo have begun again... I think they "officially" open this afternoon at some point. I'm already re-registered. Did so this weekend. The organizers of the group sent out announcements to last year's participants sometime last week. November 1st is only a month away... it seems so far, yet it isn't.

Minarae is trying her hand at it again-- I'm sure we'll be doing the mutal cheerleading thing on the 28th of November, trying to crank those last few words out. Petrouchka is throwing his head into the insanity this year as well.

I still can't get Erich to play, though. He told me last night he'd rather spend the time working on his campaign for the game. I pointed out that he could fill in a lot of backstory, and use THAT as his novel. He gave me a look.

*sigh*

But I'm thinking fantasy this year. I'd actually questioned whether I should do fantasy last year-- on about November 10th or so, but by that time it was too late to really do any switching. My plan is to flesh out the backstory for Tanya, my original D&D character. The idea might change, but it's something I've been meaning to do anyway, and there's a lot that I have to work with and work through with her. That will allow me to avoid having to do a lot of world building and concentrate on the characters and plot.

If I don't do that, well... then I don't have a clue at the moment. But I'm thinking Tanya's the way to go. It's giving me a reason to get some writing done that I should have completed a couple years ago.

My goals this year are to...

1) Put it up on my NaNoWriMo journal each day as I write. Partially to keep myself honest, partially to get some emotional "you can do it!!" from people, and partially just to be proud and display my work on the virtual fridge. :)

2) Write like hell on day one and two. NaNoWriMo starts on a Saturday this year. This is a GOOD THING. Get as much down the first two days, cranking all ideas out of my skull that I can, and get it on paper. Even if it's really, really rough. I can flesh out later, but I don't want to lose ideas.

3) Keep a pace of roughly 2,500 words (or more) for the first week to give myself some wiggle room if I can't write for a day or so. That became my biggest problem last year. I couldn't start on time because we were moving Erich's parents out of their house, and it just left me feeling like I was never catching up all month. That hurdle of pace is so HUGE, I found.

4) Keep a pace of roughly 2,000 words for the second week, which was my hardest week to write. If I can keep that pace between week one and two, that's 31,500 words in 14 days. Very comfy to tie things up.

Here's hoping I can do it this year.

November 1st, here I come...

10:10 a.m. - 01 October 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda