measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Future Dreams...

At some point yesterday afternoon, work became a secondary concern. Dreams of the future and of homes became primary-- leading to a rather extensive email thread on the subject with links from one of the local For Sale By Owner websites.

Erich and I somehow found ourselves forwarding a picture of the SAME house to one another. We both liked it a lot. We wouldn't mind a place that needs some renovation work, as long as the basics are taken care of-- we'd like to be able to live in the place, of course. While my skills at home repair are a bit rusty from years of lack of use, I do know how to do some basic stuff-- I used to help dad around the house all the time (just don't get me near a bandsaw *shudder*). Putting in some time and effort to restore an old house would be a matter of pride for me-- hard work, but also quite a bit of fun. And a lot of satisfaction afterwards.

Erich and I have slightly different, but overlapping, home tastes. We both want something with character. I hate split-level homes, he hates ranches. I would love a Queen Anne-style victorian to restore. He seems interested in that prospect. We both would like a nice backyard-- something with some size, but not too big where it would be a lot of work to take care of. In my case, I'd just like to have a yard that has a couple shady spots (not too difficult in New England with all of the trees around here) and also has some good corners to plant some pretty perennial gardens and herbs. We'd both like to have some sort of a front porch if we could find the right place... but space for a nice back deck works, too.

It's nice to dream. The idea of owning a home-- something that's ours, and not just a place we toss rent for every month.

But really, it always comes down to what you can afford. Which means that in Massachusetts it's not a heck of a lot.

But really, while we're dreaming... Why not?!?

*sigh* It makes me feel even more that I'm just po'.

But still, it's nice to dream about what could happen.

In the meantime, Minarae has her recap of her excursion to my neck of the woods up. :) (and I need to start remembering to take my glasses off for photos, based on one in there...)

10:24 a.m. - 17 September 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda