measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Boston area Diary-X Meetup

I think I might have killed Minarae and Petrouchka on Sunday. Not literally, of course, but I was so used to walking around Boston... sometimes for hours on end, that I forget that not everyone does or can.

I also forget that I haven't lived in Boston for a year myself. And so between Monday and Tuesday, I've been massaging the backs of my calves and hobbling a little bit from the overexertion.

*wince* Sorry guys... feel free to smack me.

Needless to say, it was great to see the two of them. Minarae is, in almost every sense of the word, simply a more extroverted version of me. Petrouchka reminds me so much of many of the guys that I either know now or did in college. Two great people. People I could definitely hang out with on the weekends, have a few beers. Petrouchka is someone who I could see spending the Saturday afternoons with at the gaming table. Minarae needs to be converted. All I can say. :)

And to follow up my last entry-- they are pretty close to how I pictured them, actually. I think I was a couple hair colors back on Petrouchka, though. For some reason, I was thinking green dye...

Anyway, we did a lot of touristy stuff on Sunday. I took them to Faneuil Hall briefly, and then we wandered through the North End and up to the Constitution (where we took the tour). We ate lunch at an entirely too expensive restaurant in the North End (which means that I owe them both a few drinks when I see them come back later this week), then went down to the Public Gardens and the Common. Petrouchka wanted to see the Robert Shaw memorial in front of the State House (for reference to what it memorializes, see the movie "Glory" with Denzell Washington that came out in the late '80's/early 90's). We chatted for a while in the Common before heading back to the Cambridgeside Galleria to get the Jeep and do some driving for a while and eat at a cheap eats place (the Pour House) I frequented in college and the years I lived at The Beast.

And we stopped by The Beast. Minarae loves the neighborhood (so do I, actually... it's shame it's so damn expensive). From the window, I could see that The Beast has been remodeled-- a new, white fridge instead of my almond one that had been in there. Brick has been laid along the sidewalks. And whomever moved into The Beast has put up deep red curtains-- keeping up the tradition of being the only window on the street with colored curtains (mine were purple).

It was a fun day, and a tiring one. I accidently wore everyone out.

Don't make me tour director again, guys. I think I'm dangerous for everyone's health!

So the two of them are off for a busy, driving-filled few days to tour the greater part of New England. I may or may not see them at the end of it all, as they drive back up to Boston sometime late this week. :)

And in the meantime, I'm back to work... trying to figure out some semblance of organization around here.

~ Mel.

12:32 p.m. - 09 September 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda