measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend wrapup

The Beast Junior (a.k.a. my work cubicle) got viciously attacked yesterday. I dumped several files out that haven't seen the light of day since I moved into this cube 2 years ago. Some of the files were at the bottom of drawers. A couple had notatons of "entered on 9/10/01, ~ MK."

Creepy stuff. To know what I was actually doing the day before September 11th. Yeah. They got tossed in a quick hurry as I shuddered inwardly.

But the cleaning went damn well on Sunday afternoon. The bulk of the work was really done within an hour-- just getting rid of the piles of paper that had taken over my file drawers for far too long. I literally was at the point where I have a bunch of stuff to file, and absolutely no space for it. Time to make some judgement calls on what can and can't be tossed. So I did.

I filled up an entire mini-dumpster's worth of crap from the past three years since I started this job. I've also put three files boxes worth of stuff to go to The Vault (also known as Iron Mountain) at some point soon.

After it's all done, I'm looking at a reclaim of nearly all of my counter space in my cubicle-- a good 14-18 feet worth of working space. And the work I have to do is clearly marked in four piles. The largest still being the data entry pile, which grew from its level of six inches to about eighteen this weekend. *grrrr* Still, I'm very proud of myself. It's been a long time coming, and I feel like I can actually work now, since I have the space to do so. And maybe, just maybe... I can have it cleaned off almost entirely by Friday when I leave.

Other than my quick stint at work, it was a pretty good weekend. Erich had some of the guys over to play a version of Modern d20. Toward the end of the night, there was some recreational marajuana use as well-- a decent amount from what I understand. I'm actually quite surprised that I didn't hear OF it or smell the stuff, despite being only a room away. It doesn't bother me that much, provided the cops don't come crashing at our door, of course. I've never understood what the big deal about it is-- all that's happened to me when I take a few hits off a joint is that I fall asleep. If I want a good buzz, I find beer or shots are a far more effective option. *shrug* I do get worried about a few of the guys who were over that smoke it, though. Based on my experiences with my brother, I get worried about some of them. For some stupid reason, a lot of people think pot's not addictive. Watching these guys, and having watched my brother, I know the opposite is true. It's hard not to worry about them and what might happen to them. *sigh*

I'm bowing out of said Saturday-night campaign simply because I'm not sure I can pull off playing the type of characters that the campaign was designed for ("morally ambiguous."). Interesting idea, definitely. And I'm intrigued by it. At some point, I probably would like to play... but I'm just not in the mindset to attempt something that at best is chaotic neutral in alignment. And honestly, lots of campaigns are going on right now. After all, I'm somewhat involved in two campaigns right now-- Erich's D&D and LGM's Heroes campaign. And Tone wants to set up a Modern Arcana game in the next month or so. And there's talk of some small campaigns with our characters that were created in JT's game, since we all want to play our characters again (and change things around now that more books are out). I've reworked Tanya, per agreements by the DM's that might run her-- most likely I'll be dropping her back about seven levels or so and redeveloping her and getting rid of a worthless Prestige (non-gamers, think a career path that requires serious dedication, like a physician or nuclear physicist) class I took before a more appropriate one came out. I've also done some work on another character I took out of the game for various reasons... whether or not I play her, though, is uncertain. I might hang onto her for some creative writing plans instead.

But anyway... to get off the geek speak for a bit... it was a good weekend. Erich got to do some gaming. In addition to cleaning out my cubicle, I went through all of my penpalling stuff at home and divided it in to piles so I can get it moving again. It was starting to migrate around the apartment... very scary stuff.

And on a very amusing note, I received an email from one of the new Board of Directors folks from Nervousness.org asking for some insight on a member who had caused problems and showed back up, as well as some insight as to why I left. (I left because, frankly, the atmosphere at Nervousness was so nasty and unfriendly that I didn't want to waste my time or money with it anymore). It's not the only email I've had regarding Nervousness, either. Five separate people in the last week have asked me to come back to the site. Thanks, but no thanks. *shudder*

Anyway... I'm settling into a hopefully relatively unstressful week here at work. A lot of people are out on vacation, so I should be able to duck under the radar quite a bit.

Only four more days until freedom...

I can't fucking wait.

~ Mel.

3:36 p.m. - 21 July 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda