measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Colley Tribbles

After a winter of bitching that it was always cold and miserable-- New Englanders got the collective wish for summer yesterday. It came in with a vengeance, and I'm fighting so hard not to complain about the heat. Particularly with how this past winter was. I really am trying. But I feel so cheated out of a nice spring. There was no middle ground. We went from frigid to damp and cold to JESUS H. CHRIST IT'S FUCKING HOT OUTSIDE!!!

My ideal is what Northern California experiences around San Francisco bay... mid 70's to low 80's during the day, fog rolls in at night, cools things off to comfortable, cool 50's weather at night to sleep. I could have that all year round. Alas, instead we went from highs of 60's and lows of 40's to highs in the mid-90's to lows in the lower 70's. Ick. ick. ick.

The weird thing is that despite the heat, I probably slept better last night than I have in years. Sure, we had the box fan blasting on high across bare skin to keep us from sweltering in our non- A/C'ed bedroom... but somehow, I actually slept.

I'm just praying that the entire summer won't be like this. And I have a sinking suspicion it's going to be a brutal one now that it's kicked into gear. What worries me is that it's a vicious cycle-- it climbs to hot temps during the day, but never really cools off at night, so it's easier to climb hotter the next day.

Did I mention that my car temperature gauge for the world around me yesterday climbed briefly to 103 as I drove through Randolph?

*shudder*

If this keeps up, Colley's going to have to be shaved down. The poor guy hasn't lost his winter undercoat because it's been so cold all spring-- so now he's stuck with a near double-coat in sweltering 90 degree weather. He's spent a good deal of his time passed out on his back in front of the box fans. I've joked to Erich more than once that I think our cat likes to get blown. Considering his ass end is closer to the fan, take that as you will... But yeah, the long-haired Wegie might be getting a poodle cut in the next couple weeks. I just can't let him suffer the heat like that all summer. It's cruel and inhumane. And I'm not in the mood to repeat last summer and dunk him in the shower every evening to soak him down to cool him off. He really doesn't like it, after all.

Plus, shaving him might actually solve another problem, at least temporarily. Miss Fizz, being the stupid cat that she is, still eats anything inorganic in site... including any fur shedding from Colley ("Colley Tribbles")... off the floor. So this little cat has a furball cough off and on all day. She rarely has one that actually comes *up* though. Just this hacking and coughing that makes me cringe. Perhaps if the Colley tribble-spawn problem is solved for a while, her furball issues will subside a bit.

Maybe. It is tough to tell with Colley Tribbles. They always seem to be the color that directly opposes whatever each individual Tribble falls upon, so that each tribble shows up against its background.

At least we can stop worrying about Colley spawning for a while. The vaccuum would probably appreciate it...

3:32 p.m. - 26 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda