measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reunions...

Last week the invite came. Being that we're in the computer age and all, it came over email. Slipped in there quietly. If I hadn't recognized the name of the sender, I probably wouldn't have even paid attention to it.

Ah yes. The Billings Senior class of 1993 reuinion.

It cometh. It cometh soon...

And I am not going because it's only three weeks away, and well... there is that whole issue with my father going on right now. It's kinda hard to get around Billings without someone seeing me, recognizing me, and then informing my dad that I'm there.

Not to mention the cost of getting out there-- tad expensive right now.

*shrug*

Off and on over the last decade, I've had fleeting thoughts about what would happen at the first reunion. Who'd be married. Who'd have kids. Who would have done something that seems completely, utterly insane from the people I knew as classmates. How people would look ten years after high school. I mean-- look at me. I'm a big fat blob now compared to then-- and I felt like a big fat blob then (what an extra 100 pounds will do to a person, eh?)

I also have often wondered why I'd bother going. After all, I was a band geek and one of the hated kids who threw off bell curves and really wasn't part of any of the cool groups in school. I was a nerd-- and a very quiet one at that. I felt like everyone hated me, whether or not that actually was the case. Looking back, it probably wasn't. But I had so little self-esteem that I wasn't exactly jumping to make friends, either. I went to school. I hung out with Darren after class in the band room. I sat by myself during lunch most semesters because my friends had the other lunch period. And I was stuck in an internal fantasy to keep me from the reality of how much my life was turning upside down with my parents.

It's difficult to say how I'd really feel, though, seeing them all again. I'm definitely interested in knowing what has happened to people. But since I didn't really know many people in high school, how superficial is it to care now what happened to them? I mean-- it's not like I really knew them then. I definitely don't now.

Then again, there's my mom-- who went to her 20th reunion and met Jim. And now they've been dating for the better part of nine years happily. Weird things happen at reuinions, I've heard.

In a lot of ways, I do wish I could go. But in a lot of ways, I think it's better I wait until year 20. There will be much more to talk about by then, I think... so Billings Senior class of 1993, I'll see you in 2013.

~ Mel.

4:35 p.m. - 25 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda