measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here kitty, kitty, kitty

Both of my cats are officially in the "deep shit" doghouse.

Monday night was one of those relaxing "doing our own thing" evenings. Erich was off drooling over the beta testing version of the new Star Wars online multiplayer that Tone got selected for (but he didn't). I was home catching up on the weekend's emails and websurfing. The cats, after a long tiresome day of napping, were in the midst of a vigourous game of chase around the apartment.

All was good.

UNTIL...

The cats came bounding into the computer room, and Colley caught his foot on the ethernet cord that was lying along the floor, connected to my laptop. He tripped. He brought the computer down off the desk, and it went crashing to the floor.

I saw it happen in slow motion.

*groan*

My laptop still works-- everything's okay... except the port for my ethernet cable. The plastic that holds the ethernet cord snapped in place broke and pushed back at a 45 degree angle, destroying the port capability. I tried to pull it back forward-- won't happen. And unfortunately, it appears that ALL of the ports on my ibook-- modem, ethernet, USB, monitor, etc. are all one card that fits on the side.

According to apple.com's service site, it looks like it's a $465 fix. *groan*

Granted-- it could have been a LOT worse. The computer still works, thankfully. Nothing else is broken... all of my applications run. The LCD screen is fine. It's just that ethernet port slot.

Hopefully I can contact Greg and maybe he'll know someone who can fix the thing for a bit cheaper. Someone local, rather than having to send it back to California to get repaired. My warranty's voided on it anyway, since I upgraded to Jaguar (OS X.2)

Thankfully, I have an airport card in the laptop... so right now, I'm leaning towards just buying an airport hub (for $200) for the time being to give me wireless access, and worry about fixing the ethernet port card later. In fact, I might HAVE an old hub that Greg gave me when he upgraded his computer-- but I don't know if he gave it to me because it only worked with OS 9 or not.

Needless to say, I'm feeling very discombobulated having a laptop with no internet ability right now. My old G3 is still in the house, but needs a complete overhaul before it's useable because it didn't like OS X as an upgrade. I need to wipe it and reinstall. It's going to be an internet-only computer. It's not good for much else with only a six gig harddrive these days. (and did I just say that? Sheesh, these computers are getting huge!)

I have a lot of Reiki attunements going on, and I can't use my own computer to contact them... or download my email, which means I HAVE to read it online.... and that's annoying to me.

Grrr... Colley, you're lucky that I love you so much. Seriously...

*sigh*

Mel.

10:09 a.m. - 14 May 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda