measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Distant friendships

It�s funny when you find yourself into one of these two phrases:

1) It�s a small world

2) Some friendships can just pick up where they left off

When you find yourself in two of them, it�s even funnier� but quite, quite cool.

In my case, I have two penpals who I am writing to�Heather in Michigan (*waves* since she reads this from time to time) and Ashwini in India. I wrote to both of them as teenagers�Ashwini I wrote to when I was only twelve. We lost track of each other. And then found each other again via the internet, years later.

While some of the memories are fuzzy from my letters with them so long ago, part of me still remembers waiting for their letters to arrive, checking the post office box out on the street� occasionally scampering out barefoot in the snow to bounce over to the box once the postal truck had driven by.

I�m remembering why I enjoyed writing letters. How I used to enjoy marveling at how time passes as I write to these people�how our lives change, and how we continue to keep each other up to date from time to time with what�s going on.

Penpals are friends that you share time with over a cup of coffee, curled up on the couch. You read their words, you hear their voices inside your head�or a voice that seems to feel right to you that probably isn�t anywhere close to what they actually sound like. And you write. It�s like writing here in my journal in a lot of ways.

Perhaps I never really gave up penpalling� I just moved it into a different form�more generic. People reading it, but not with any specifically addressed letter TO them.

As much as I�ve tried to give email penpalling a chance, it�s just not the same. I try to keep up with email letters, but I just don�t like sending short letters back�and email�s just too instant, too fast. I love taking time writing letters. Even if it means typing them to keep up�I enjoy composing them. There�s an odd, ritualistic feel about writing letters. I think perhaps it�s just because like so many hobbies that are done solo, there�s a traditional way of going about things. Carpenters having time shaping wood. Musicians warming up before playing. Whatever the hobby, it takes on a sense of tradition�this is what I do� this is how I do it�

Penpalling to me is just peaceful solitude in the distant company of friends.

Friendships from afar that are distant, yet so fascinating.

~ Mel.

1:59 p.m. - 29 April 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda