measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I love my boss...

As I normally do in the mornings, I popped over to Linda's office first thing to see if there were any pressing things I had to make sure to get done during the day. I've discovered that most of the projects are things she finds out about right at five the night before, and she never bothers me with them (which I appreciate)...

but she forgets to tell me in the morning, too. So it's become my habit to pop by... say good morning, and just catch up on whatever she needs.

I remind her this morning that I won't be at work tomorrow since I'm heading down to PA (thankfully with Erich... an update from yesterday's entry...). She asks me if I'd be in Monday.

"Yes. But I'll most likely be late because we're driving back Sunday night and we'll get back late," I say.

"No nono... don't do that. Just take the day off," she says.

*blink*

"Are you sure?"

"Mel, how many people are going to be here on Monday, anyway," she reminds me.

(oh yeah. Patriot's Day.) <-- I remember

"Well, okay. If you don't mind, sure, I'll take the day off."

"Enjoy. I won't be here, either... so relax, have a long weekend, and have fun."

Heh... Linda's awesome.

For those of you not part of the Boston Metro Area... Patriot's Day is a holiday that signifies the beginning of the American Revolutionary War (which started on April 19, 1775... for those of you not well-versed in American History). Like so many holidays, Patriot's Day is one of those days that shifts actual dates every year. It falls on the third Monday of April.

It's not really a big holiday anymore. There are reinactments of Paul Revere's Ride to warn about the British. Lanterns are hung in the Old North Church. There's a reinactment of the first battle of the war on the Lexington Green...

But the most notable thing of Patriot's Day is the Boston Marathon. So much so that Patriot's Day has almost become known better as Marathon Monday. (check back in my archives... you'll see Marathon Monday notes...)

And Samantha? You're near the heart of the action... jump in and join some of the chaos on Monday. Great photo and people-watching day. I know you love taking photos around the city-- here's a fantastic opportunity for you. :) Finish line is right in front of the Public Library on Boylston Street.... Best place to watch the marathon is from the *north* side of Boylston Street or Commonwealth Ave (which is the direction, I believe, you come from when you walk over from school).

Companies along the route of the Marathon usually take the day off, although a few of them-- especially the ones near the finish line, throw little parties and have hangouts on rooftops for great views. But a lot of the rest of the Commonwealth doesn't take the day off anymore. It's just kinda... there. Since the rest of the nation doesn't acknowledge the day, it's falling more and more out of favor.

But schools still have it off. And so a lot of my co-workers have kids who will be home. So they take the day off to watch said kids.

And I guess I get the day off to go have a little fun. Since there's no mail, I can catch up a bit-- and watch the marathon on TV.

Woo hoo!

11:51 a.m. - 17 April 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda