measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

war frustrations

For the record-- I think Michael Moore is a pompous ass. He's one of the rabid liberals that I see as just as bad as conservative Christians. Same shit, different side. I didn't watch the Oscars-- partially because the only movie I'd seen that was up for Best Movie was the Lord of the Rings, and I knew it wasn't going to win. Partially because the concept of celebrity activists on both sides make me nauseous.

I've had enough nausea this week about the war.

The war makes me sick to my stomach. I've tried, for the most part, to stay away from the news this week and try to go about my life, even though it doesn't help. I've caught up on what's happening for a little bit in the evening-- to stay informed. To know what's going on. As the death toll for British, American, and allied forces mount up day by day, I just shake my head and have to ask myself why.

I came into work this morning bringing my supplies for the troop boxes my office is putting together. A group of us -- all anti-war people-- got together to put together boxes. We each picked an item to purchase for each box. Everyone else picked things like gum or magazines... toothpaste, etc. I picked toilet paper-- because I heard on NBC last week as they interviewed two women in charge of the project that it was the hit item of every box and the one that every soldier thanked them profusely for-- because there just isn't enough of it to go around when you're out in the desert.

The last thing we need are troops distracted by sore asses because they don't have enough t.p. to wipe properly.

It's going to be a long, bloody war. And I seriously doubt when the U.S. pulls out of Iraq, whenever decade that finally winds up being, that things will be solved. Sure, Hussein might be out of power-- but who is going to be put into power? Another leader who will be up for assassination the moment we turn our eyes away?

*shakes head*

the whole thing just makes me so queasy.

4:02 p.m. - 24 March 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda