measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

huh. *thinking*

As I watched the news this morning while cleaning up things a bit and getting ready for work, I was saddened by the death of Fred Rogers. I'd loved his show as a child. I still think it's probably one of the best shows on TV for young kids. Hell, when I've been sick and am couch-ridden for the day, it winds up being part of the viewing habits, even as an adult. It was sad to hear of his death. And particularly from cancer, in light of everything going on with LGM and my grandma. I hope he didn't have a tremendous amount of pain. I hope his loved ones were able to get there.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It's interesting what you find in the news, and what makes you stop and pause to think. It also is weird when you had random thoughts before falling asleep the night before, and they tie in, too. I'm talking about this story about the WTC bombing.

The 1993 bombing. Which had its 10th anniversary yesterday.

Did you notice anything about it on the news? Me neither. Funny how little ironies like that get lost in the news, isn't it?

The weird thoughts I had were fleeting visions of September 11th, of where I was, of video reels I remember being played back over and over on TV. It just kinda popped in there after Erich and I had turned to our separate sides of the bed to fall asleep. It didn't stay long. It didn't bother me that much. I figured I probably thought of it because Ade had mentioned recently how she felt a bit weird not grasping these big world events-- and specifically the WTC-- when it didn't directly affect her because she didn't know anyone who died. Since it had been a recent conversation, it was bound to come up somehow in my thoughts... *shrug* I'm just glad it didn't come up as a nightmarish dream.

Still, I just had to pause when I saw that article on cnn.com this morning. Just a weird little "huh... weird. I wonder if I somehow remembered that..."

And then I read the story about the current winning design for the WTC site... not sure what to make of the building itself, but a particular description from the lead archetect struck me as very poignant and quite appropriate, if the design actually works and his calculations are correct:

The architect says that having calculated the arc of the sun, a wedge of natural light would funnel visitors to the memorial site, and that every September 11 between 8:46 a.m., when the first tower was struck by a plane, and 10:28 a.m., when the second tower collapsed, no shadows will be cast by his buildings.

That idea just strikes me as a perfect memorial. Especially in downtown Manhattan, where sunlight barely hits some of the streets at all.

11:22 a.m. - 27 February 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda