measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For the record: 50 days

Heh. Guess who called me tonight?

My dad.

I didn't actually talk to him-- since he has an unlisted number, it came up as "out of area" on our caller ID, and we let the machine pick it up, in case it was a telemarketer.

Imagine my surprise when it was my father leaving a message, saying how he was worried because he "hadn't heard from me in a while." I don't recall a written requirement where I was the one who had to initiate contact. And since we didn't exactly leave things on good terms at Christmas, I wasn't exactly in a hurry to give him a call, either.

I didn't call him back tonight. I'm too tired to try to put up emotional shields to deal with him right now.

But get this-- about forty minutes later, the phone rings again. Turns out it's my mom this time. Who informs me that my father called HER tonight, once he got my answering machine.

It floored her that he called. It floors me, too. He hasn't bothered to converse with her in two years. She told me a bit of what happened in the conversation, about how Dad had asked if I was okay, if Scott was okay (apparently, Scott hasn't been too keen on talking to him, either), and Mom let him know that yes, we were. She mentioned to him how I'd been upset when I came home, and how most of it revolved around how I wasn't able to have time with him alone, and how I got shuffled to Anne.

She pointed out to him that he needs to remember that Scott and I are THEIR kids, not Anne's (or Jim's, as she included). She reminded him that Anne is not our mother, and we aren't her kids. And how she and my father should be able to talk about the two of us without getting significant others involved, particularly since both children are adults now, whether on the phone or by email. Dad gave Mom his email address. Of course, it's the address he shares with Anne-- I let her know that, since privacy will be impossible there.

Dad tried to make some crap up about how he has "four" kids now, and mom reminded him that no, he doesn't. He has two. And he's ignored those two.

She also mentioned some remarks he had about my parents' divorce. My dad needs to start dealing with the past. All I have to say on that.

I told Mom that I had gotten the call, but since I really didn't know what to say-- since anything I have to say about it would probably just further inflame the situation-- I haven't called him. I don't know when I'll call him. I know I will eventually-- although I still think I'll write that letter first, so I can say what I want to say. But right now, I just can't. I'm not in the mood to deal with him, when all I'm going to get is his usual b.s. anyway.

*sighs*

Time for bed... maybe I can think about this a bit clearer in the morning.

~ Mel.

11:47 p.m. - 16 February 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda