measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When it needs to be done, the ego's out the door

As a followup to my last entry, LGM called me this afternoon to update me on his travel plans to get to Florida.

The situation basically looks like this:

LGM, obviously, wants to get to Tampa to be with his dad as soon as possible. But after being unemployed for a year, and now that he's just starting to get back on his feet, money is a bit of an issue (back-bills and such).

Greg, a college friend of both of us, and a particularly close friend of LGM, lets him know that there's a free ticket coupon waiting for him in Manchester for whenever he needs it. Only catch is that the plane has to be taken FROM Manchester because it's in Greg's name at the moment, and Greg has to physically be present to sign it over (or something along those lines).

LGM went into his employer this morning and explained the situation. From what he told me, it sounded like they were quite understanding and told him to take the time he needed. Apparently they have an office in the Tampa area, which would be great for LGM if they can make some sort of a regional transfer for him. Best of both worlds for him right now.

He calls Greg to let him know. Problem is, Greg's currently on business in Baltimore and won't be home until wicked late tomorrow night. But he will be in Cambridge and Boston on Thursday, which works well for LGM to hop a ride up to New Hampshire. But because of timing, LGM can't wait until Thursday for the train.

He's coming on a train to Boston tomorrow. I'll pick him up at the station closest to me (since there are three for the Boston metro area) and bring him over to the apartment. He'll stay the night with us, and then will head into Boston. I'll probably be taking him to work and dropping him off at the Commuter Rail or the Green Line, whichever he prefers.

It's hard. But despite everything that the two of us have gone through-- either together or in punishing each other, this is one situation where that bullshit just needs to be dropped, and the egos need to be left at the door. His dad's dying. Unless a miracle happens, it's going to happen soon. And he needs the strength of any friends who can provide him with some leaning energy because he's not only losing his dad, but he's going to undoubtedly become the caretaker for his mother and his brother Jimmy. Three of his siblings are married with kids and have roots that can't be pulled up so easily. One of his brothers never has gotten his life together. Jimmy's permanently disabled and lives at home with his mom. And his mom, like his dad, is in her 70's (like me, LGM's adopted, which explains the age gap).

It's a tough road for a mid-twenties guy who really has just been getting his own life together this past year. I don't envy him in the least. I know I'd probably find the strength to get through it like he's doing, but at the same time, I have to wonder if I'd be strong enough to face it. One of my fears is watching my parents die slow deaths due to illness. In a somewhat removed way, my grandmother is dying that way. But there isn't the finality that LGM has. His dad has "end-stage" cancer.

It's going to happen. Soon.

I still have that chance to watch my grandma die peacefully of old age. I can hope for that.

I can only give him some strength to keep moving and know he has someone to lean on for emotional support, and be thankful that I have Erich who is also helping out, when he could just as easily be a jerk about helping an ex-boyfriend of mine.

*sigh*

4:28 p.m. - 28 January 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda