measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday off

Due to the fact that I haven't used my overtime hours this year, and my department risks losing the budget allotment for those hours for next year, Linda told me to take today off. I have New Year's Eve off, too, for the same reason.

Oh. Darn.

It turned out to be a good thing. [erich] got nailed with a cold sometime yesterday, and was a bit restless in his sleep last night. Around 1:45 in the morning, I gave up trying to get to sleep in our room, and took a pillow and my comforter into the living room and slept on the couch. The last thing we need is me to be sick, too, considering how hellishly quick I am to develop bronchitis with each and every cold. And I'm sure I'll get this thing from him by the end of the week. *sigh* He was in that not-good-but-not-quite-bad funk under medication all day today. We spent most of the day relaxing, but did go to WalMart to pick up a couple things, and to the drugstore to get prescriptions filled and such. We got lights to decorate our railing outside (blue... purdy) and for the tree we'll be buying this week (blue-white fading lights... purdy too), and random things we needed to pick up.

Fizzy didn't go to the vet today. She seems to be doing much better since I added the furball dry food back into the mix in the bowl. She's still coughing from time to time, but not nearly as hard, and she hasn't puked since yesterday. This is a good thing. So I'm just going to keep an eye on her. If it doesn't go away by Wednesday, I'll take her in. She seems completely normal otherwise.

We finally gave up trying to fix the tub problem with cat litter this afternoon. Note to everyone else. They LIE when they say cat litter is flushable. The manufacturers lie! Don't believe them! The stuff just turns to cement in your pipes. And it DOESN'T go away, no matter what you use.

We almost bought this bottle of industrial strength declogger at WalMart that I nicknamed "Liquid Smite." The stuff was labeled with an incredible amount of warnings-- just touching the stuff would cause severe burns. But as we stood in the checkout aisle, Erich decided not to bother with the stuff.

After several battles with draino and a pipe snake, we gave up and called building maintenance. He showed up within a half-hour with an electric snake in hand. The clog had gone down twenty feet into the pipe. He got it fixed, and I reveled in having a shower for the first time in weeks where the water wasn't slowly building around my ankles in the tub.

Hopefully work won't be too chaotic tomorrow. I'm not in the mood to deal with whiny people. *sigh*

~ Mel.

9:49 p.m. - 9 December 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda