measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A celebration of home-brewed coffee

Last night, [erich] and I enjoyed our first cups of home-brewed coffee. Even though I'd bought coffee about a tenday ago, we hadn't made any coffee because I'd forgotten to get cream. And you have to realize, that excuse was pretty lame, considering we live right across the street from the supermarket. No, really. We do. And neither of us would bother going across the street to pick up some cream.

We're both lazy-asses, I know.

In any case, on my way home from Border's and my attempt to catch up on my [novel] wordcount, I stopped by Cumberland Farms and picked up a pint of half-and-half to make coffee. Despite my roughly 2,000 word jaunt at Borders, I was still about 3,000 words behind pace and knew I needed some coffee to get me buzzed up.

Now, for those who are huge coffee buffs, stop scoffing because I know it's the "old-time" and supposedly "poor taste" way to make good-tasting coffee, but I already love our percolator that Erich's mom gave us as she was moving out. And it's not as slow as you might think it is. In five minutes, I have six cups of finished coffee. I'll put it to a race over a drip coffee maker any day. Plus, we're not brewing the overly expensive coffees here. We just need caffeine. And quite frankly, I'm not such a coffee expert that I need that slightly bitter, slightly nutty taste.

I found myself fascinated by how the percolator works, too. Perhaps it's because I grew up with the drip maker in the kitchen. I'd never seen how the percolator works. I just kept staring down into it, watching the water bubble up through it, starting clear, and eventually turning a wonderful shade of brewed brown. And it makes this delightful puffing sound from the steam-- a sound I could imagine remembering as a "homey" feeling for someone on a Sunday morning.

I loved being able to curl up on the couch with a mug of coffee, rather than a styrofoam cup from Dunkin' Donuts, and watch TV and play The Sims for some de-stressing time. Erich spent the evening trying to tackle a particular board on Warcraft III, but did not succeed. Perhaps it sounds over-sentimental, but put into perspective that this is the first ever coffee brewing I've done outside of my parents' homes. I've never had a coffee maker before.

So I relished the first time.

I did a little more writing, talked to Minarae for a little while on AIM, and got to just shy of 13,000 words last night.

And this morning once I got up, I brewed another pot, turned on the iBook, and did a bit of scribbling as I had my morning coffee. The leftover coffee went into my mug, and is still warm. This will probably become a daily routine, at least for the rest of the month.

Here's hoping that I can crank out a bit more today and get back on track. Since it's a slow day at work and a lot of people are out because schools are closed, I might be able to get some done at my desk this afternoon once I get stuff moving off of my desk.

Here's hoping.

9:52 a.m. - 11 November 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda