measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Searches and discoveries

I woke up sometime in the middle of the night to a cool splash on my face. The most recent Nor'Easter had arrived in Randolph, and the rain was blowing in from the east side of our building. My left pillow rests under the open portion of the window, since I'm the one who really needs the fresh air and cooler temperatures in order to sleep. Getting wet isn't exactly a good thing.

But I guess it's better than waking up in the morning to finding a puddle on the other side of the floor. Or the multiple small spots of diarrhea from the larger of the two furballs, as was the case this morning.

*groan*

We're getting a rug to cover the hallway so we don't have to worry about the carpet. Rugs can be thrown away. Security deposits get charged for unremovable stains.

And I think I'm going back to the old style of cat box next paycheck-- the one we bought is just too small for the two cats, I think. (Tan-- do you guys need a new one for Spooky? It's only 2 months old... would work well for one cat...)

Other than the poop brigade... *grumble* it wasn't too bad of a morning, or an evening last night.

I didn't get much writing done last night on the [novel]. But between my lunch break yesterday and the scribbling that I did last night, I managed to do the 1,700 minimum to at least keep myself at the same level behind. I'm seeing myself needing to just make a big break at it on Sunday, when we don't have any plans.

I was seriously debating quitting last night. But I can't give up quite yet. And I think my mind is going through its usual routine of getting all of the defeatist stuff out now, but I'll plug away at it, even if I'm not keeping pace. If I can't make a break on Sunday to around 15,000 words, then we might be doing some other thinking. But hopefully I can get to 15,000 and beyond by this weekend, and just get it moving. I feel like all I've been doing is exposition, and I want the plot to move. If I'm rolling along in the story, then maybe I'll roll along with my typing speed.

Maybe.

Still, I did get stuff cranked out yesterday. I discovered that the Needham Starbucks is a comfortable, quiet place to work during lunch. It might become a staple this month. Grab a cup of chai and just write for about 45 minutes, go next door and grab a sub for lunch, and then eat at my desk. Not ideal, but it could work. And it gives me an hour with no interruption to get some writing done. Any little bit of time helps, I guess.

I felt bad though. I snapped a bit at Erich for interrupting me to tell me about feats and classes and such in the Kingdoms of Kalamar Player's Handbook. I bought the book on the way home last night. JT's doing some freelance writing for the series, and was thinking of trying some stuff out on us, so we'll be starting a new campaign in the new setting sometime probably after the new year. (and maybe playtesting credits? *crosses fingers*) I skimmed a bit last night before he got home, but didn't allow myself to get too far into it because I wanted to write. I figured it would allow me the chance to write, and he could drool over a bunch of new character inspirations. I can work on mine over Thanksgiving weekend, when [nanowrimo] is winding down, and I won't have internet access.

Well, he did. But he kept trying to involve me in it. Which flatters me, but I'm trying to write, and struggling enough as it is.

Tonight I'll make sure I go off into either the bedroom or the computer room to do my writing, rather than the couch. At least until I get my minimum word count for the day. After that, he can come in and interrupt, unless I'm on a roll.

Sorry hon-- I don't mean to be pissy. (kiss) I'm just having a bit of ego deflation with how hard this writing is coming to me. I'm rustier than I thought.

*sigh* back to work...

10:25 a.m. - 6 November 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda