measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maine is entirely too big a state

First off, I'd like to thank the-ova for an amusing review of my site. When it's a review that is specifically for the idea of fun, with no pressure (and really, not much reviewing of the journal at all), I'm all for it.

No jubblies points though-- if it is breast size as I think ova's referring to, they're rather big. But then again, so am I. Heh-heh.

[bar]

Although I had a good time this weekend, I'm glad to finally be home. The weight of needing to help various people move is finally lifted off my shoulders, and while [erich] has the hefty emotional weight of his parents' moving into their separate lives to sort through, the moving is over.

We drove his mom's van up to Maine on Saturday, stayed overnight, and then drove back yesterday with his dad (who'd helped move the stuff up there during the week).

Tenant's Harbor is a cute little town with a protected harbor-- one of those little towns that has been there for decades and remains relatively untouched by the garish signs of modern life-- fast food places, huge strip malls, Walmart, etc. Life goes from daybreak to sunset, and ends around 9 p.m. The shoreline is that famous rock coast that is in all of the Maine postcards. Buildings are whitewashed. Seafood (and lobster, in particular) is abundant.

I can see the appeal. I would most definitely find a week up in Maine to be a refreshing retreat to ground myself. I don't know if I could live there year round. Not at this point in my life, at least. But it's kind of nice to know that there's someone up there that gives Erich and I an excuse to run away for a weekend once the weather gets nice again. That drive would be pretty hellish in the wintertime.

It's a long drive, though-- about 220 miles or so, and takes roughly 4 hours to do. What amazed me was not the length of the drive, but how much more of Maine was north of us when we got there. I thought we were closer to Bar Harbor than we actually were. Maine is just this wide expanse of land, much of it still looking completely untamed. Even to this Montana kid, it seems huge.

The only downfall was trying to get sleep on Saturday night. I'm a horrendous sleeper as it is, and between being in a strange place and sharing a queen sized bed with Erich (who is a chronic sleep-sprawler like I am), I perhaps got about two hours. Maybe three. But definitely not enough to be considered even an average night's sleep. I worked on adrenaline yesterday, and was doing quite well until Erich remarked that he didn't know how I was able to write when I must be so tired. (I didn't feel it until he mentioned it).

But I'm always up for a little wanderlust traveling, and this weekend provided a feel-good opportunity to do so.

Unfortunately, it bit into my writing a bit for [nanowrimo]. I have about 3,500 words. It's a decent start, but I'm not happy with it so far. I'm trying to ignore my self-criticism and just write. It's been a lot tougher than I expected. Hopefully tonight I can crank about 2,000 words and get back on track. I posted a bit of the writing so far into the other journal last night, and then realized that I never had my character introduce herself (D'oh!). So I'm going to update it with that part tonight to begin with, and then move forward. I'd like to work on Chapter 2 tonight. I did some exposition for Chapter 3 last night, since I was fighting to write on only about two hours of sleep and couldn't work out any movement in plot. It was definitely an exposition sort of night-- no real thought required. Just description and rambling.

Tonight I want to get moving. 2,000 words is my minimum. I'd like to double that if I can, though.

And dammit, I want to game again. It's been too long...

10:23 a.m. - 4 November 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda