measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Insanity begins

As of approximately fifteen hours ago, my soul is sold to [nanowrimo]. At least until November 30th.

I haven't written a damn thing down yet.

I was tempted to be a smart-ass and type "It was a dark and stormy night..." on my laptop, just to have seven words down. But I was too tired last night after our tromping around in the cemeteries and woods of Massachusetts. So tonight, after a short nap, I'll get to work. Break for Reiki attunement at nine, and then write some more until I get too tired to think. My rough goal for tonight is about 4,000 words. I'm pretty sure that it will be a base, considering that I have no ideas typed yet and can go pretty much anywhere. But I'll be happy with whatever I get... baby steps are good.

Plus, Erich bought himself a new Dell laptop that was delivered yesterday, and he'll be spending all night drooling and tinkering on the thing. :)

Tomorrow is the drive up to Maine. I'm debating bringing a tape recorder to just chat to myself as I drive up there, since it's a long four hours and I'll be by myself in the car. I can always type my dictation once I get home, and make myself feel even more productive.

What did I get myself into?

[bar]

I'm quite tired after Samhain happenings yesterday. I'd hoped to finish last night with a ritual, but I was just too tired. We had a wonderful day off, just relaxing and doing things at our own pace. We did a lot of driving.

For a couple hours, we headed to Sleepy Hollow Cemetery in Concord and wandered the gravestones. I took some pictures on one of those disposable cameras, since I had one lying around that needed shots to be used up. Hopefully some of them will come out well. I tried for a few angled shots of the gravestones, in hopes of using it for some sort of background next year around Samhain. The older part of the cemetery is quite lovely with that creepy feeling that only New England (and arguably, New Orleans) cemeteries can have. We found a gravestone that stood taller than me-- just a flat slab of granite that was completely engraved with honors from a man's life.

And we found one with the last name of "Blood," which I hope was caught in one of my angled shots.

Concord is a lovely little town that in many ways has remained a chasm from modern times. Colonial-era houses line the narrow streets, and little cemeteries sit next to old churches. The maple trees were in peak color, and leaves coated the roadways. It just looks like a sleepy little New England town.

Bear in mind that it's impossible to afford a place to live there. The reason it's so quaint is because the people who live there can afford to keep it looking quaint.

We went looking for the Beef and Ale restaurant (argh! Gamers!) that we ate at last year before heading to Witches' Woods, but alas, it has closed down. We stopped instead at a little cafe/restaurant closer to the ski area. The food was pretty good and warmed us up.

Witches' Woods was fun, although it seemed much tamer than last year. Other than my instinctive need to curl into a ball when I heard the chainsaws (I am scared shitless of them... always have been, things weren't quite as scary this year. Or perhaps I just was completely jittery last year. *shrug* Any power tools make me run the other way), I did pretty well. The graveyard this year was rather unique-- they painted all of the surface with neon 3-D paint, and we wore the 3-D glasses as we walked through. It was quite cool-- not scary, but more just weird and cool-spooky. The effect I liked the most was the paint on top of a crypt-- it made it look like the paint was floating a few inches above the crypt. Nifty for a graveyard. (I just think green paint would have worked better than orange).

So now Halloween is over, and for another year witches won't exist to anyone but the Pagan community. I'm not sure whether this is exactly a bad thing. :)

*sigh* back to work...

2:46 p.m. - 1 November 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda